Fibre East 2014

I’m incredibly lucky that I live only a few miles from one of the highlights of the yarn calendar – Fibre East. An annual international event, celebrating all things English yarn related and more. I am a recent convert, going last year for the first time but now I can hardly wait to go back.

Fibre East

And why am I so excited? Well, last year’s experience was pretty mind-blowing. I thought it would be a relaxed amble around for an hour or so and then a leisurely cup of tea to digest all the textures and colours that I’ve seen. I totally and utterly underestimated the size of the event. It is massive and there is just so much to do. Of course there are sheep,

sheep

All sorts of rare breeds

and there is yarn galore to please every type of taste and need

yarn1 yarn2there is spinning of all varieties (the choice made my head spin!)

spinning spinning1 spinning2and it is both indoors and out, with classes (Bavarian cables and All Spindles appealing to me right now) and lots of lovely new people to meet, great designers willing to sign their books and helpful stall holders and all sorts of squishy lovely yarn to touch and squeeze and buy with buttons and other accessories to wonder at. If you want to dye your own home spun silk, no problem. If you want to join a local knitting association, just sign up. If you have always wanted to give machine knitting a whizz, there is nothing to stop you. The list is truly long.

I hope to see some of you there! Only 17 days to go. I’m currently trying to work out where at home I could hide a little more stash…

www.fibre-east.co.uk

 

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Craft, Fibre East 2013, wool, Yarn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fibre East 2014

  1. Hannie says:

    Those stripes yarns are pretty. Sounds like good fun but I can imagine spending too much money on yarn hehe. I still have some bits I bought in October at Ally Pally to use……then again maybe it could be an excuse as “I need yarn for christmas presents……”

Leave a Reply

