Cushions, Swans and a Little Geography

This blog needs a little introduction – if you’re only interested in the knitting, please skip to the end.

I live in a market town in the East Midlands called Bedford. Many would say that it has not much to be proud of, and I’ve not been here long enough to argue on the details. However I candefinitely say that it is pretty. Have a look and make up your own mind.

Jpeg 2013-05-06 12.51.04-1

I took these pictures a few minutes walk from my house. Although you can’t see any evidence, the river is also very popular with swans, geese and ducks. In fact swans seem to be Β a bit of a local speciality. There is the Swan Hotel, also pretty, with its swan statute and there are some steel swans gracing a roundabout near-by created by a local artist, Susannah Oliver.

Swan Steel swans

So when I heard of a competition to create something related to Bedford, I thought of swans straight-away. I’ve got to admit that I come from the school of thought which holds swan to be beautiful in real life, and rarely when reproduced, so I was a little reluctant to go down this path. But a few creative hours later, and with a lot of help from hubby again (so great to have a zoologist to point out that your swan’s beak actually makes it look like a goose!), the project was done.

Jpeg

I’ve used British wool, which is machine washable to create …..

Jpeg Jpeg

a cushion.

Jpeg JpegI

It’s been a while since I’ve done colour-work and the experience prompted me to blog about the benefits of English v. Continental knitting. I’m glad I’ve attempted this as I now have a few more ideas (nothing swan related) which is also Bedford linked. And of course, I’m hoping others will want to recreate this cushion using my pattern : )

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Bedford, British wool, colour, Continental knitting, Craft, Designer, Interior Design, Knitting, Monster Yarn design, Patterns, swan, wool, Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Cushions, Swans and a Little Geography

  1. This is lovely, fresh cleans lines, I love it, Susan

  2. Karen says:

    Your cushion is lovely! I think the photos of your town are gorgeous.

  3. Lovely town and lovely knitting, thoroughly enjoyed the whole post…nothing new there πŸ˜‰

  4. lollyknits says:

    Lovely! So modern too πŸ™‚

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thanks.
      I really wanted to steer well away from kitsch. I was thinking of 20s designs but had to make it a lot curvier as square edges are just not swan-like!

  5. Beautiful job! Love the pictures and especially the cushion. Great swan!

  6. Kay says:

    Oh how lovely, very curvy and elegant. Great choice of yarn too. Good to see you on Saturday morning. Kay

  7. I Love Swans……

Leave a Reply

