About Beach-Bags and Other Things

Last week I was in an excited state as I had three separate yarn deliveries in time for some Craft Markets and other sale opportunities which I have lined up between now and August. To my family’s dismay, we now have even more yarn and I’m breathlessly working on sampling as many of them as I can. It’s a horrible task but someone has to do it! : )

One of the many yarns which I was keen to sample is Schoeller + Stahl’s Anya yarn in no less than 12 summery shades. I still have difficulty picking colours rather than reckessly taking them all – I managed to restrict myself to six.

shade card

It’s a massively chunky yarn – ideal for summer projects – fast, fun and colourful. I restricted myself to using just three colours – after all, I’m trying to make a business out of this, not use up all my stock!

Jpeg

There is a very helpful pattern on the band of the yarn for a bag and since it’s been a while since I’ve used yarn like this and since I’m always in need of yet another bag, I thought I’d try it. It started off looking like this. You are looking at the base of the bag. I’m using size 10 crochet hooks.

Jpeg

And shortly thereafter it looked like this. Reason why I’m showing this picture is that the colour/skein change with chunky yarn of this type involves an element of sewing. You have to sew the ends together to avoid an unsightly lump on the project.

Jpeg

And here is the second colour change.

Jpeg

To get this far was a mere couple of hours – mainly slowed down by resting my wrists. It isn’t often I use size 10 hooks! In no time at all, I had a bag with handles and some yarn left over. I wrapped this around itself to create a feature and tied it off.  It’s turned into an ice-cream coloured beach-bag with no holes to let anything through and lots of body. It took no time at all and I know it will get used.

Jpeg

And now I’m thinking, maybe I need some baskets like this in my wool room….

I did a little research on what the yarn could also be used for – I know nothing of any of these crafts but apparently yarn of this nature is ideal for knotting and macrame. Not only do I have great yarn, I’ve learnt something too!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Beach Bag, colour, Craft, crochet, Fashion, Patterns, Schoeller+Stahl, Summer, wool, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

