A-Z of Yarn: Uses of Eyelash Yarn

Eyelash yarn, and in fact any form of Novelty yarn, divides knitters into two distinct camps. Those who love it and inevitably those who hate it. First of all, what is it?

Eyelash yarn up close

Eyelash yarn up close

It is usually a man-made fibre central thread with varying amount of fine thread sticking out of it. This can be mixed with sparkly polyester, paper, pompoms and can be long, short or anything in between. Recently I have also seen more luxury fibres being used to make this yarn.

It is the fine thread that gives the yarn the semblance of eyelash. The texture is usually very soft – think of pet rabbits.

If you already have some inย  your stash, perhaps it’s been there for a while and you may be wondering what possessed you to get some in the first place. Well, it’s time for a spring clean!

So what can you use them for? Let’s start with the simple.

Eyelash yarn scarf from www.straw.com

Eyelash yarn scarf from http://www.straw.com

Eyelash edging on a simple jacket at www.knittingonthe net.com

Eyelash edging on a simple jacket at http://www.knittingonthe net.com

Now look at this.

Eyelash yarn added to beads to create a striking necklace on Etsy

Eyelash yarn added to beads to create a striking necklace on Etsy

Holding eyelash double with another yarn creates a tactile texture

Holding eyelash double with another yarn creates a tactile texture

I think this one is perfect.

A great decorative spring idea from craftycrow.net

A great decorative spring idea from craftycrow.net

I love the texture that eyelash creates. It is a little difficult to carry it off as an item of clothing but I’ve been working on the right design. Has your interest been piqued yet? Pattern coming next week on the blog.

 

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in A to Z of Yarn and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A-Z of Yarn: Uses of Eyelash Yarn

  1. knitting15 says:

    Hi my name is Gill and I recently had the pleasure of meeting Judit when she came to my home to try and help me understand Crochet!!!!! However, the time we spent together was much more informative than just a crochet lesson , she gave me believe in myself that the knitting g projects I have been and still doing are worthwhile and that I should believe in my own ability and skill.
    She was great company and more than overstayed her alloted time and I was very thankful for her time. Judit was very patient and understanding of my situation and not only is she a good teacher she us also I believe a great listener.
    I am disabled and suffer with chronic pain and use knitting as therapy and wellbeing for myself.
    So thank you again Judit and I promise I will endeavour to try my hardest at crochet. However, I’m not expecting miracles lol โ˜บ

Leave a Reply

