A New Project – and a ribbing question

I’ve started knitting myself a new jumper. I’m using the lovely alpaca yarn that so spectacularly failed to turn into a double knitted jacket and I’ve reverted to the same principles that I did for my son’s ribbed jumper. I love ribbing! It is so versatile and easy and there is something just so satisfying seeing those vertical lines. Obviously there will be a few twists and turns…

The Front. Or is it the Back?

The Front. Or is it the Back?

It will be reversible with a simple slash neck. I was thinking to reverse the colours on the other side – yellow on brown instead of brown on yellow. As you can see though, it is, even for ribbed knitting, rather narrow. So I want to introduce a band of tomato red on each side which will link the back and the front (as you probably know by now, I’m not shy and retiring when using colours). But I wanted to use a different sort of rib stitch – perhaps something a little lacier than just solid ribbing. This sent me scurrying to the web to do some research.

I came up with a treasure trove of information and I certainly know what I don’t want. But I am totally overawed by the impact of some of the ribbing stitches – and they are so simple to do! Why don’t we use them more often? Just look at these beauties.

Chain of Hearts rib

Chain of Hearts rib

Raised knit rib

Raised knit rib

Reversible rib

Reversible rib

Rib with garter stitch borders

Rib with garter stitch borders

Seed stitch ribs

Seed stitch ribs

Of course, my problem now is which one to use. I want to introduce a stripe in the sleeves too – in which case the pattern has to be quite narrow. Perhaps I need to go back to the drawing board.

In case you’re wondering, the majority of the stitches I found on craftcookie.com.

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Monster Yarn design, Ribbing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Project – and a ribbing question

  1. oh my word, these are simply gorgeous, thanks for sharing them

Leave a Reply

