And the Winner Is… and some other Monster updates

It’s finally come – the time to announce the winner of my First Give Away! I dutifully ordered all my Twitter, Blog and Facebook followers in the date order they followed/Liked me. There were a total 475 separate entries so no mean feat. And then I used the very useful Random Number Generator to pick a number.

It is you Crafty Allie! Congratulations to you – please get in touch as to where I can send you The Knitter’s Bible. You can contact me privately through my website http://www.monsteryarns.co.uk.

Thank you to all of you who followed me since the competition – I will have more Give-Aways in the future and in the meanwhile, I hope to keep you amused and informed about yarn related things.

Which leads me neatly to give you an update on the Make-a-Monster Competition. I’m sure you all know that feeling when you decided to throw a party. You invite your friends, you make the preparations. And the day and hour arrives. Those few minutes before the door bell rings for the first time always fill me with dread. What if no-one comes? Well, the same thing of course happened here. 1 August came and THERE WERE NO ENTRIES. My husband was ready to sit down and make something himself just to keep me from whingeing any more. But then we were all saved. The entries started coming. And here they are!! I’m not going to put them in order of class at the moment, I think they look lovely all jumbled up.

20130801_125247_resized1 front hairy monster 1 Yeti

Needless to say, they all have names. I didn’t even think of that but thankfully all creators have pride and provided me with the appropriate names. Check out the Monster Yarns FB page for names, entries and relevant personal characteristics of each monster!

And there are more!

Jpeg Micromonster

Jpeg

So now you’ve seen the competition, come and join the fun – closing date is end of August so there is plenty of time to get Monstering.

And finally last but by no means least, Hooky Queen has nominated me for the WordPress Family Award. Thank you sincerely and I’m somewhat embarrassed as it was only six weeks ago that kfklever nominated me for this award. I’ve decided to cut through my indecision as to what to do about it by posting a link to my blog entry from the last time! Here it is:  WordPress Family Award.

I am sorely aware that there have been decreasing patterns/knitting involved in my posts recently. I am sincerely beavering away but many of the projects are unseasonal (yes, Christmassy) and I want to keep my powder dry for a more appropriate time. Plus I’ve had a disaster requiring frogging of ginormous proportions, of which I’d rather not think or write about for the time being. In the meanwhile, I hope you’re having fun with your projects, having a great summer and get Monstering soon!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in children, colour, Competition, family, Make-a-Monster, wool, WordPress Family Award, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to And the Winner Is… and some other Monster updates

  1. howserrn says:

    I really want to make a monster! I’m crazy busy right now making things for my wedding. Hopefully I can find time before the deadline!

  2. Craftie Allie says:

    Oh wow! I’m so excited!! Thank you so much. I sent you a message through your site, let me know if you need anything else!!

  3. Craftie Allie says:

    Oh wow! Thank you 🙂 I sent you a message, let me know if you need anything else!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hope the book will be useful. 🙂 Got your message. Will post this week!

      • Craftie Allie says:

        Yay so excited!! I don’t really have a knitting library and have been wanting to start one. 🙂

      • monsteryarns says:

        Posted today. The postage was more than the book LOL! Cheeky postman said that if I pretend to be blind he could post it for free for me. There is something wrong with people!!
        Hope you enjoy it and have a great Summer : )

Leave a Reply

