Make-a-Monster Competition

It’s Summer – not that we in the UK would know it! But the Summer means holidays and free time. I thought this would be an ideal time to launch my first Competition.

IMG_5817_small2

The rules are simple: knit or crochet a “Monster” in any style you like (no more than 100g of yarn in total) and post a photo before the end of August on Monster Yarns Facebook page saying which category you are entering – Junior, Novice or Open. A quick “Like” would be very much appreciated too! There is a prize to be won in each category and I will get in touch in the first week of September to notify winners. The idea is to create a Monster with character!

Junior – This is open to knitters and crocheters under the age 16. Please ask your parents for permission to enter. Junior “Monsters” will be judged on personality and ability to make you smile.

Novice -This is open to knitters and crocheters who have less than one year’s experience. (you know who you are and please don’t cheat). Novice “Monsters” will be judged on creativity and personality.

Open – This is open to all knitters and crocheters. Open “Monsters” will be judged on complexity of design, use of yarn and colour, creativity and of course personality by a small panel.

Junior Prize – £30 Monster Yarns Voucher
Novice Prize – £30 Monster Yarns Voucher
Open Prize – £50 Monster Yarns Voucher

I will post prizes internationally so do enter.

For inspiration click  Monster Yarns and in case you’re stuck for “Monster” yarn try Monster Kits.

All entries welcome!!

papaya_2331_small2

This week is very special in my life. I’m about to reach an age that cannot be called anything but middle-aged in the original sense of the phrase. It’s a little liberating and a little sobering. And in the run-up, I mentally set myself a few targets about this, my blog, and related social media. I’ve been working hard at it all and I was hoping to get 100 followers each on WordPress, Facebook and Twitter. And I’ve done it, with some room to spare! I recognise that there are some wonderful people who overlap these three formats, but right now I’m not letting the drive for pure statistics get in the way of over 300 followers. Thank you all. Now get Monster creating!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in British wool, children, Competition, Craft, crochet, Knitting, Make-a-Monster, publicity, Summer, wool, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Make-a-Monster Competition

  1. Reblogged this on UK Crochet Patterns and commented:
    One of our regular visitors, guest poster and a past competition winner! Check out her competition!

  2. It’s adorable! My niece wants me to knit her a zombie, why can’t she want an adorable toy like this! 🙂

  3. roguecrafter says:

    Reblogged this on Rogue Crafter's Studio and commented:
    What a fun competition!

  4. cleo14 says:

    This looks very fun!

  5. Wow! Ooooh, hope I’ll have time to join. 🙂

  6. Fantastic competition! Wondering if my daughter might like to enter the Junior category! I’ve just shared on my FB page 🙂

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thank you so much! I’ve just had another entry from a budding designer. It seems like I found something interesting 🙂
      Definitely encourage her – but there is an adult category too!

  7. daniellajoe says:

    that is so tempting!!! well let me see if I can pull that off who knows 🙂
    and CONGRATULATIONS!!! on your birthday and the followers, and I am wishing you many more 🙂

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thank you so much! All this on-line marketing is slightly surreal. I like meeting people in REAL life : )

      Look forward to your entry!!
      Have a fantastic weekend.

  8. *Wisher* says:

    oohhhh.. this looks so fun.. time to search for a monster pattern to knit/crochet.. yay.. 😀

  9. I cannot wait to see the winners! 😀

  10. Pingback: Make-a-Monster Competition Results | MonsterYarns

Leave a Reply

