Let the Wedding plans continue

I’m not sure what to call the wedding blanket for my sister. It’s not quite a labour of love – I quite enjoyed most of it. And it wasn’t a gauntlet thrown down to challenge me. I suppose in all honesty it was a little bit like a game of patience and a test for my nerves of steel!
Trees of Life

So to recap, in case you haven’t been following it, it all started back in mid-September. I sought your help in choosing  a pattern, hit on Nicky Epstein’s Tree of Life blanket and cast on. I picked an oatmeal coloured alpaca aran blend.

Unbridled excitement at the beginning of a long journey

Unbridled excitement at the beginning of a long journey

After completing the first set of Trees of Life, I hit on a snag. Despite ordering more yarn than I have ever done for one project, I calculated that I was severely short for the size of the blanket I intended to make. I also added another repeat (total of five pairs of Trees) so it was really quite a wide blanket. The supplier had run out of the alpaca. Minor panic ensued. Somewhat daunted, I picked another colour from my stash – a cocoa coloured 100% British wool aran. Boldly, I went ahead.

The complete pattern

The complete pattern

Very glad I persevered if only for the fact that I have no idea what I would have done otherwise with so much of oatmeal coloured alpaca! I gave myself a target of 15 cms a month plus a month for the edging. I made such good progress that I had time off for good behaviour in November and December.

Two repeats done

Two repeats done

After Christmas, I gave myself over to the project again. It had become a bit of a chore. By this stage I was carrying around a weekend bag of unfinished blanket just to work on it on my commute. I started feeling that I deserved the title of “mad knitting woman”.
Garden of FlowersAnd then it was done. Quite quickly as it turned out.

It's done

It’s done

Not to be accused of being easy, I didn’t want to add the leaf edging suggested in the pattern. I thought a simple knitted edging would work. It didn’t. So I added a three row crochet edging with a picot corner.

Simples!

Simples!

I’m glad the wedding doesn’t have to be postponed as the present is not finished 🙂 This is the single largest item I have ever made and it is quite an achievement. After 144 flowers in the Flower Garden and 15 pairs of Trees of Life, the blanket is complete. It’s about 175 cms long and 155 cms wide. It took 10 weeks or so of commuting and weekend knitting, over 70,000 stitches. Much thought about life, love, marriage and all those things that flit through my mind when I knit. I hope my sister has the best day for her wedding and a husband who loves and cares for her all her life. And my blanket, as company.

Wedding blanket

And me – I’m planning a bigger and much more colourful blanket for our new house. Suggestions welcome!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Wedding and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Let the Wedding plans continue

  1. daniellajoe says:

    Wow!!! Absolutely gorgeous!! Tell me about the yarn it looks soft..

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thanks!
      The oatmeal yarn is wool 40%, alpaca 25% and polyester. It’s a chain spun yarn which I hope will pill less. I bought it from Ice Yarns in Turkey. It’s soft and squishy. The cocoa coloured one is quite a rare thing as it’s 100% British – sheep, wool and spinning all done in the UK. It’s all wool but it washes well. It’s soft but sturdy and has a really nice texture. I made a cushion out of it before and it’s held up well with wear and tear. It’s called Jarol Heritage.

      • daniellajoe says:

        thank you so much for the explanation, it sounds like a really nice yarn to work with 🙂 Europeans have the best yarns 🙂

  2. Beautiful! Nothing quite like knowing that much time and love went into your new heirloom!

  3. knitsbywhit says:

    This is gorgeous! You did such an amazing job. That is a huge project to complete, especially trying to finished around the holiday season. Well done!

  4. Charan says:

    The lessons in love knitted and wisdom pearled into that blanket would be enough for 10 marraiges! Amazing! In awe of you as ever!!

  5. Absolutely gorgeous! What a lucky couple

  6. Have you seen Sophie’s Universe by Dedri Uys of LookatwhatImadehttp://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/sophies-universe-cal it is stunning! I’m busy with it

Leave a Reply

