Countdown to the New Year

This is one of my favourite times of the year. The stresses and strains of Christmas are over but there is New Year celebrations to look forward to. I can still legitimately drink mulled wine but there are no presents to wrap. Sitting on the cusp of the old and the new is a very exciting time for me. With only a few days left of 2014, I’ve taken stock of my knitty achievements. And I’m pleasantly surprised. I’ve posted over 30 patterns this year. Judging from the number of visitors, the wider knitting community also enjoys what I’ve thought up!
cartoon1

I’ve made over 40 items – big and small. I couldn’t pick a favourite if I tried. I loved treating my little (!) boy to his ribbed colour block jumper and my current all time favourite top is the body warmer I made in a few afternoons. I also know that  my aunt rather likes her spiral socks whereas my dog really doesn’t like her dog coat. Obviously I can’t ask any of the babies whether they like their blankets, but I made no less than three of them, so there is a good chance that at least one of them is appreciated!
Spiral Pram blanketI didn’t make any New Year’s resolutions in January so I have no yardstick to measure my knitty success. However, completing, on average, a project every 1.3 weeks is not bad! Does show that I commute a lot…

cartoon2

So here’s wishing you all a very Happy New Year – let it roll on!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Countdown to the New Year

  1. Hannie says:

    I never thought of rounding up the year by the number of completed projects. Let’s think I think I’m just on 7 leading up to Christmas and a baby blanket for Jaxon. I think I also made two other blankets so that’s one project every 5.2 weeks. Maybe a few more are in there too. Will have to work out properly I think.

    • monsteryarns says:

      To be quite honest, I don’t know exactly what I’ve made. I will keep a log for 2015. I’ve just used the blog entries and rounded up but there are things that I know that I’ve forgotten about.
      It’s not all about the output, I’m just interested in what drives my production levels 🙂

  2. Carolyn says:

    Maybe we should all keep a log, it would be fun to review this time next year.

Leave a Reply

