Lace Catastrophe

My lace backed cardigan has not been behaving recently. Although I blocked it and reblocked it, the collar and hem still curl.
The collar:
Curly collarThe hem:
curly hemSo I thought drastic measures were required, needing an iron and wet cloth and lots and lots of steam. And no glasses! Whilst I was gently steam pressing the offending parts, I noticed this – quite near the shoulder.
stitch1I wasn’t sure what I was seeing first of all, so I put my glasses on. I saw this.
stitch2It is totally unmistakeable. It is a break in the stitch. I can’t see what or why happened. I can’t see any broken yarn. There are just two stitches and they are no longer joined. After a little flap and panic, it now looks like this.
fixstitchIt’s not going anywhere at least! I have no idea how to fix this. If it were a whole series of running stitches, I’d have a better idea, or if the garment actually had some seams, it would be better. In fact, anything than one stitch in an obvious place which also needs to hold firm. Please give me some ideas for invisibly mending this – the lace panelling didn’t take too much time to knit but the stocking stitch front was a pain so I really don’t want to start again! All words of wisdom, or comfort, gratefully received.

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lace Catastrophe

  1. Wendy says:

    To be honest, it’s not at all noticeable. If it were me, I would secure it with a needle and wool.

  2. Wendy says:

    With a darning needle and wool I mean

  3. PJ Lightning says:

    Only thing I can think is to thread a loop of yarn through the two stitches and tie a very tight small knot, then with great patience, work the ends of the yarn through the fabric, following the stitches so it’s a bit like when you join in a new ball and have to knit or crochet doubled for a while. Not sure how clear that is.

  4. PJ Lightning says:

    I don’t think it will be all that noticeable to anyone but you đŸ˜‰

  5. whatzitknitz says:

    I was going to suggest the same as PJ. Although I would thread my needle and duplicate st through several sts working towards the hole and then fix or ‘darn’ the hole shut and then duplicate st through several more sts to secure the fix. There would be no knot but it would be hidden and fixed and very secure.
    I had the same thing happen to me last year on a yak shawl. I found the hole when I was blocking and quickly put a safety pin in it while the shawl dried and then I ‘darn’ fixed it. No one was the wiser and even though I loved the shawl I ended up gifting it to my Mom who wore it until she died. And then I told everyone that I wanted my older sister to have it.

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thanks – the threading through several stitches was what was evading me. I didn’t like the idea of a knot as I think I’d feel it on the shoulder and know it was there all the time!

  6. Helen says:

    invisible mending thread. I have some, bring it round! x

Leave a Reply

