WIPs

I’ve been pretty good recently – in fact over the summer holiday I finished all, or practically all of the WIPs I had hiding. It allowed me to mentally free myself for a burst of creativity. I’m now involved in a bit of a long-term project – sister’s blanket, but in the meanwhile, I’m casting longing glances towards the green pastures of a new project. And I have cast on two things which are feeling unloved and unfinished right now.

The first one is a lace jumper. Feeling flushed with having finished my first lace project, I fell in love with an all over lace number and decided to start straight away. I was doing fantastically, until I crashed and burnt on the fourth round of repeats. I missed some stitches and the entire pattern stopped making sense. So I ripped out and started again. Guess what, the same thing happened at exactly the same place…I suppose I will have to re-start again. Again. I’m working on putting in a life line before I rip back to save some of the work at least. It’s a real shame as after this row of repeats, you start the body and I have some plans to come off pattern on that!
WIP1The second started as a bit of fun. Since I have accumulated quite a stash of scarf yarn, I wanted to make something different from it. Those ruffle scarves must be on the way out by now! So I was thinking a large cushion with ruffles at the front. Once you work out how to hold the two yarns together and how frequently you have to use the ruffles, it’s pretty brainless knitting but very slow. I’ve sort of lost interest with this one. It’s hard to see but I have half of the back of the cushion done and about a third of the front. I need to plough on …
WIP2Perhaps these will be done next Summer?!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in WIP and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to WIPs

  1. Hannie says:

    I’ve started a crochet hat as a Christmas present and I’ve ripped it out about three or four times because either the pattern didn’t make sense or I ended up with the wrong number of stitches somewhere in the round. I am also working on a scarf for my mother in law. I had two balls of wool, one orange and one grey and thought it would be enough but I got to the end of them and it wasn’t. I’m beginning to think that I should have done blocks of each colour rather than knitting both yarns at the same time. It’s a lot of work to change it now but i think it might be more wearable in blocks. Maybe I need to bring it on Thursday for a consensus from you, Mum, K and R.

  2. daniellajoe says:

    It looks beautiful to me … I hate ripping too lol 🙂

  3. daniellajoe says:

    It looks perfect to me, but I do understand about ripping back, we find out after two or three rows lol 🙂

    • monsteryarns says:

      I’m on to the second colour (coming off pattern again and decided to make it a block colour lace jumper). Hope it works out as otherwise it’s back to the drawing board.

  4. Cheryl says:

    LOVE that lace motif! Keep plugging…it’ll be worth it!

  5. Pingback: My Christmas Present to Myself |

  6. Pingback: Lacy Tunic – All Done! |

Leave a Reply

