Progress on the Wedding Blanket

Since mid-September, I’ve made good progress with the blanket for my sister’s wedding present – I am almost half way with the blanket itself. So far it has not posed too many challenges, just a question of counting. A lot. And I’m really happy to have chosen a pattern that varies in knitting techniques. There is some hope that I will still be sane at the end of the project.

Here is the progress report.
Cast On:
Cast on

Look, tree trunks:Look - tree trunksHere come the Trees of Life:
 Here come the Trees of Life
Intertwining Branches eat yarn!
Trees of LifeThe first row of flowers in the flower garden – avoided the shortage of yarn by introducing a new colour:

Flower Garden

 

On to the first round of repeating the pattern from the start. Getting the hang of this…

On to second repeatSo now I know it is physically possible to finish this thing in time for the wedding next year, I’ve started thinking about two things.

1. What edging to use?
The pattern suggests a leaf pattern. This is beautiful but I want to simplify the feel of the finished blanket and make it more streamlined. I think the bias binding trim looks quite nice.
bias binding trim

Or perhaps the zig zag trim.
zig zag trimThe advantage is that I could attach both trims directly to the blanket without having to sew on.
Any alternate ideas?

2. How big can a knitted item be before it looks really weird to be taking it out on a train and knitting it?!
What do you think?

Thanks for the collective wisdom.

 

 

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Wedding and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Progress on the Wedding Blanket

  1. P.J. Coldren says:

    Thank you for posting the link to the ZigZag trim – I am making a baby blanket in the round and have been wondering about an edge for it. Now I have one.

  2. bcre8v2 says:

    I have no helpful advice, since I’m not a knitter, but I think this blanket is stunning. Thanks for sharing.

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thanks.
      I did also think of crocheting an edging – but the difference in gauge is putting me off. I don’t think that I could face having to rip out acres of edging as it’s making the blanket “bag”!

  3. Helen says:

    I like the bias edging for its simplicity. I think it will set off the complexity of the blanket pattern nicely. The zig zag is gorgeous, but I think might be a bit too ‘pretty’ to go with the earthy colours and the pattern itself.

    • monsteryarns says:

      Totally agree. I also think that I won’t have enough yarn left for the zigzag pattern and that it is likely to send me spare having to knit all that!

  4. hardknitlife says:

    Either edge would be beautiful. I am also not sure what is too big to take on a train…I guess if it’s too big to fit on your lap without falling on the floor? I wouldn’t want it to get dirty 🙂

    • monsteryarns says:

      I’ve now rolled up the finished part and secured it in a plastic bag. It protects the pattern and makes it easier to transport but most definitely looks odd!

  5. Pingback: My Christmas Present to Myself |

Leave a Reply

