When a Scarf is not a Scarf – a Pattern

We’ve all been there –  most people start with knitting them. You can never have too many after all! Of course, I’m talking about scarves. But they can be a bit boring to knit and what if you want to use it to keep more of you warm than just your neck? I’m all for multi-functional items – see my 3-in-1 scarf and I wanted to make a more versatile scarf that could be worn in many ways.

Scarf done

Is it a scarf?

I used an aran weight self striping yarn with a little girlie glitter in it and started knitting 7 rows of seed stitches, keeping 7 stitches of seed stitch on either side, adding a YO, slip 2 knitwise, k1, slip the 2 stitches over, YO in the middle of the material – the total width is about 45 cms. I carried on for six 100g skeins of yarn. A long, wide scarf in fact. And then the slightly clever bit. I folded the scarf in half widthways and sewed six decorative buttons at equal distance along one half and matching hooks on the other side. When you button the scarf up all the way, you can wear it hanging.

What is it?

Or if you turn it round with the long side hanging at the back, it looks like this.
Back to front?Of you could wear it like a poncho
Poncho?Or a wrap

Is it a scarf? Scarf

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And finally, I really quite like the asymmetric look.

Asymmetric scarf look

But more to the point – what do I call it?

Scarf

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Patterns and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to When a Scarf is not a Scarf – a Pattern

  1. PJ Lightning says:

    Now that is clever. ~Bookmarks!

    Knitted multi-wrap?

  2. What a great idea, I love the colours too!

  3. lollyknits says:

    It’s a thneed 😛

  4. Sandyknits says:

    The proper name could be 6 degree travel shawl. The reason is that your design has 6 different methods to wear it and with different weights of yarn perfect for most places we go. I know a mom of 5 who I think matches this perfectly so thanks for applying your talents to a situation which needs to be addressed.

  5. Sherry DeFazio says:

    Where exactly is the actual pattern for this fantastic creation?

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hello!
      It’s just a long, wide scarf so I kept the specs minimal! 🙂
      I used an aran weight self striping yarn with a little girlie glitter in it and started knitting 7 rows of seed stitches, keeping 7 stitches of seed stitch on either side, adding a YO, slip 2 knitwise, k1, slip the 2 stitches over, YO in the middle of the material – the total width is about 45 cms. I carried on for six 100g skeins of yarn.
      I think I cast on about 70 or so stitches.
      That’s it!
      I think I spent longer trying to find buttons that matched the yarn than I did knitting the scarf. I ended up using beads.
      Hope you enjoy making this.

      • Sherry DeFazio says:

        Thanks a million. Very clever and fun.

      • Sue says:

        So would you need an even number of stitches or an odd number? sorry – newbie here who very badly wants to try this!

      • monsteryarns says:

        Odd is better.
        Cast on 71/73/75 stitches. Your aim is to have a 45-50cm wide scarf.
        Rows 1-7 knit in seed stitch.
        Rows 8 until 7 rows from end: knit seven stitches in seed stitch. On all even rows knit to the middle three stitches (that would be stitch 33/35/37) YO, slip 2 knitwise, k1, slip the 2 stitches over, YO, knit to the seventh stitch before the end, knit in seed stitch for 7 stitches. On all odd rows, purl all stitches.
        Knit in seed stitch for 7 rows. Cast off.

  6. nanamonk says:

    How about a scarfoncho?

  7. Gloria Girouard says:

    This garment is so versatile, I’m at a loss to describe it. I DO know, however, that I would love to have the pattern. Do you have one written up and I so, where can I find it?
    …gloria

    • monsteryarns says:

      It’s just a long, wide scarf so I kept the specs minimal! 🙂
      I used an aran weight self striping yarn. I think I cast on about 70 or so stitches. I started knitting 7 rows of seed stitches, keeping 7 stitches of seed stitch on either side of stocking stitch. In the middle of the stocking stitch I added a YO, slip 2 knitwise, k1, slip the 2 stitches over, YO – the total width is about 45 cms. I carried on for six 100g skeins of yarn making it over 2.4m in length.
      That’s it!
      I think I spent longer trying to find buttons that matched the yarn than I did knitting the scarf. I ended up using beads.
      Hope you enjoy making this.

  8. Marilyn Bovia says:

    Forgive my stupidity, but I am a beginner so I’m not quite sure I understand how the pattern goes. Is there a row-by-row pattern or video? From what I gather from your “pattern”, I would knit 7 rows, then on the 8th row start with a YO, then sl2, k1, slip the 2 over, YO and continue that until the row is done, then do 7 more rows of seed stitch? I think I’m missing something because that doesn’t seem wide enough. I apologize for being so dense about it, but like I said I’m new at knitting 🙂

    • monsteryarns says:

      Not stupid at all! It’s just a long, wide scarf so I kept the specs minimal! 🙂
      Aran weight yarn.
      Cast on 71/73/75 stitches. Your aim is to have a 45-50cm wide scarf.
      Rows 1-7 knit in seed stitch.
      Rows 8 until 7 rows from end: knit seven stitches in seed stitch. On all even rows knit to the middle three stitches (that would be stitch 33/35/37) YO, slip 2 knitwise, k1, slip the 2 stitches over, YO, knit to the seventh stitch before the end, knit in seed stitch for 7 stitches. On all odd rows, purl all stitches.
      Knit in seed stitch for 7 rows. Cast off.

      Total width is about 45 cms. I carried on for six 100g skeins of yarn making it over 2.4m in length.
      That’s it!

      Hope this has helped and that you enjoy making this.

      • Marilyn Bovia says:

        I totally get it now! Thanks so much for spelling it out for me. For some reason I kept looking at the picture and trying to figure out where all the stitches were and I was thinking in terms of knitting the length, not the width, if that makes sense. I understand now, though. I can’t wait to try this! Thank you! By the way, here are a few silly names my coworkers and I came up with:
        Scarf + cape = scape
        Scarf + shawl = scawl
        Scarf + shrug = scrug
        Sweater + scarf = swarf
        Sweater + cape = swape

      • monsteryarns says:

        FANTASTIC! I love it. Thanks : )
        Send me a photo when you’re done!

  9. Charlene Quevillon says:

    HI,
    I love this pattern and wanted to ask – how many buttons and where are they placed on the “scarf/wrap please?
    Thanks very much.

  10. leslieileen says:

    Thank you so much! I found some lovely aran weight washable wool in a stripy sort of color that would be beautiful on a friend of mine who is undergoing cancer treatment. Finding a suitable pattern that fits the yarn and her lifestyle when she is better was getting unbearable until I found this today in knitpicky patterns’ December 13th email. When the last Christmas gift is done (during the upcoming week) this will be next.

  11. Lynne says:

    Can you share what size needle you used, please? This looks wonderful and I want to knit it!

  12. Aida says:

    This is really creatively smart! Multiple uses and fashionable as well, so cool. I have searched my favorite yarn shops and yarn Internet sites and can’t seem to find an Ombré/self striping yarn such as this. Is it 100% wool or a blend? What yarn brand/color did you use?

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thank you!
      I used yarn I bought in a charity shop and it didn’t have yarn bands. It feels like a wool mix. The metallic sparkle is a bit scratchy and that’s the reason I didn’t make a standard scarf! I’m not a good photographer but the colours are chocolate brown, caramel, light duck egg, duck egg, turquoise.
      If you’re in Europe, Katia have really nice self-striping yarns. Azteca is one that springs to mind in Aran weight. If you’re in the US, ICE yarns have a huge variety of self-striping yarns at great price but huge postage – you need to balance your order to make cost of postage worth while. I particularly like the Minnie Alpaca colours – very pretty. Try my shop for some other inspiration : )

  13. Melissa says:

    Haha, it’s a THNEED!!!! (I happen to love The Lorax and I wanted a thneed when I was a lil’un).

  14. Shirley Mallery says:

    I don’t see button holes worked into the pattern. How do you accommodate for that?

  15. Shirley Mallery says:

    Oh, just had a “duh” moment. Lacey strip down the middle works as the buttonholes I take it?

    • monsteryarns says:

      There are no button holes!
      The buttons are sewn on to one half of the long edge, and I crochet loops and attached those to the other half of the same long edge. You could create button holes in the seed stitch border though.

  16. Mary Lockey says:

    I could not access the pattern ???

    • monsteryarns says:

      The pattern is very simple and it’s in the blog entry. However a number of people have asked that I write it out so it is in one of the replies I made. Scroll down to find. I’ve also copied it for you.
      Here it is:
      Aran weight yarn.
      Cast on 71/73/75 stitches. Your aim is to have a 45-50cm wide scarf.
      Rows 1-7 knit in seed stitch.
      Rows 8 until 7 rows from end: knit seven stitches in seed stitch. On all even rows knit to the middle three stitches (that would be stitch 33/35/37) YO, slip 2 knitwise, k1, slip the 2 stitches over, YO, knit to the seventh stitch before the end, knit in seed stitch for 7 stitches. On all odd rows, purl all stitches.
      Knit in seed stitch for 7 rows. Cast off.

  17. Joy says:

    You are brilliant and talented

  18. dale samler says:

    Where is the link to the PATTERN?

  19. Sall Ann says:

    I cannot seem to download the Pattern. Help!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Believe it or not, the pattern is in the body of the blog. However, many people have asked about the pattern – have a look at the commentary, I’ve written it out in one of the answers. 🙂

  20. Caroline says:

    This is amazingly hot! Can hardly wait to get to knitting

  21. Janice says:

    Okay, I may be a little dense, but I am an experienced knitter and your directions do not seem to match the picture. In your directions, do you mean 7 Sts in seed stitch (rather than 7 Rows), then stockinettte stitch across until the last seven stitches are seed stitch. I really believe that would match the picture, because as you said it is a wide long scarf and knitted from end to end width wise not lengthwise, right?

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hi Janice,
      If you look carefully at the photos (yes, they’re not the greatest), you will see the seed stitch rows all the way around the large rectangle. The fabric is knitted as a normal scarf i.e. widthways as you say, therefore, I started with 7 rows of seed stitch before going into the body of the pattern which is 7 stitches of seed stitch and then stocking stitch with the YO increase and slipped stitches for decreases in the middle. Not sure how I can make this any clearer.
      Has this helped?

  22. anjicat says:

    Reblogged this on Anjicat's Rocking Chair and commented:
    What a fantastic idea! Versatility is king with ambidextrous garment

Leave a Reply

