Crochet hats and more hats

I don’t know about you but I quickly feel the cold. I’m sure I’m more suited to living on a tropical island with ambient temperatures all the time rather than seasons. Although I would miss seeing Nature change her look, I can really live without wind, and cold ones at that. Since autumn has most certainly arrived, I think it is time to start making new hats for the new season. And since I’m a little short of time right now, I turned first to crochet.

His and Hers Crochet Beanies

His and Hers Crochet Beanies

The one on the right is made with Adriafil Navy which is a chunky cotton yarn and the one on the left is made with the leftover wool from my 3-in-1 scarf from last year – also chunky. Both beanies were made in one afternoon, so definitely quick and with 6mm crochet hooks. They are crochet in the round not in the spiral. This is what they look like close up – the difference between the cotton and the wool mix yarn is quite obvious:

Crown of Her Beanie

Crown of Wool Beanie

Crown of His Beanie

Crown of cotton beanie

They were such a fast make that I carried on with the beanie making:

Glow in the dark Beanies

His and Hers Glow-in-the-Dark Beanies

These were slower process but still comparatively quick. Same rule – chunky/aran yarn and 6mm hooks. The one on the right is a seashell pattern the one on the left is a spiral pattern. I wanted to beanies that were easy to spot in the greyness of autumn mornings and late afternoons. I’ve got a thing about fluorescent colours and hats are the perfect project to use these. These are a little more intriguing than the plain beanies:

Fluorescent Seashell Fluorescent Spiral Beanie

 

 

 

 

 

 

So we now have a family of beanies and warm ears!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Crochet hats and more hats

  1. Ashie says:

    These are really great! I love your choice in colors, especially the one with fluorescent pink! Very nicely done.

  2. Cheryl says:

    Well done! These look like fun!

  3. Helen says:

    love the grey/pink one with – if you did it in orange with black pattern you could add some googly eyes and hey presto- warm ears for halloween!

  4. Pingback: Ski Masks Galore |

Leave a Reply

