A Wedding Gift

My baby sister is getting married. As if that wasn’t enough to send all sorts of hares running in every which direction possible, there is the question of the wedding present. Now don’t get me wrong, I am more than happy to be generous. Profligate even. After all baby sisters don’t grow on trees and they certainly don’t get married often. But knitting a bed spread? For a King size bed! Seriously?!

Nice Teeth

BTW – nice teeth!

Once the request was made, the dutiful follow. So there has been a flurry of emails and ideas exchanged and I have narrowed it down to these two options. The colour scheme will be different (of course) so I’m just being undecided on the pattern. Here are my options:

1. Tree of Life

Tree of Life2. Double Wedding Ring

double wedding ring

Which one should I make?

And please send me words of encouragement – I have never promised to deliver on knitting for something so meaningful and I’ve certainly never knitted anything of this size. I get bored with repetitive patterns so part of me is dreading starting.

Perhaps I could just buy a bed spread and knit a matching cushion instead?

 

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to A Wedding Gift

  1. Lucy Bishop says:

    Oh wow! What a beautiful thing you’ve offered to make for your sister! I’m sure she’s worth it. 🙂
    I LOVE the top trees patten, I think it’s timeless and beautiful. Wow! I can’t wait to see it in progress sweetie!
    Xxxx

    • monsteryarns says:

      Erm. I didn’t offer : )
      I’ve cast on Tree of Life and I’m approaching it as a military operation. 20 cms per month at least is the minimum. Totally doable but I also want to make other things too!

  2. itwasjudith says:

    Tree of Life is my fav 🙂

  3. Hannie says:

    I do like the double ring but I guess with the tree of life one it matches whatever decor your Sister has in her house.

    • monsteryarns says:

      I love the double ring. I was working on colour combos. Then I bought the pattern. I would have to make 94 of one shape, 116 of another etc. etc. and then join them. I put the pattern at the bottom of the pile. I don’t have patience for all that!

  4. mrsmashiter says:

    Tree of Life is my fave of those two choices 🙂
    An amazing gift idea that your sister will be able to keep forever! X

  5. Helen mooney says:

    Tree of life, of course. Maybe for their 10th anniversary!

    • monsteryarns says:

      I’m figuring that I have 11 months to complete a 2m project. That is 20 cms per month and the edging the last month. I’ve cast on with 6mm needles so the work is not too slow. My aim is to get it done ASAP.

  6. Cheryl says:

    Yikes! You are a better woman than I 😉

  7. Helen says:

    Both gorgeous, Since you don’t like repeating patterns so much, how about a border of the double rings with the tree of life in the centre? Perhaps a neutral coloured tree of life and multicoloured rings to match anything.

    • monsteryarns says:

      I’ve got a beige/heather mix alpaca/wool/poly yarn and I’ll be putting in a slightly stronger earth tone to separate the patterns. I’m keeping to the pattern (hahaha) except that I’ve made the blanket wider (5 repeats not 4) and I will not do the trees at the top but their initials interwoven instead. I just hope it’s not too beyond me to finish…

  8. P.J. Coldren says:

    Because I, too, get bored with repetitive patterns (see my stack of PhDs) I’d go with the Tree of Life because just when you get fed up with the cabling part, you have to really concentrate on the trees, and when you can’t possibly do another branch . . . you can start cabling again . . .

  9. lollyknits says:

    I really like the Tree of Life. It has a lot of symbolic significance. Also it looks like the pattern changes more, so you might get less bored 😛

  10. knitsbywhit says:

    I vote tree of life! Maybe you could just make it a throw blanket so they can use it to cozy up on the couch on cold nights? It is a lot smaller than a king sized spread 😊

  11. Oh man, I could never knit a blanket that big. Both patterns are classic for a reason, but I’m going to be different here and say I like the Double Wedding Ring better.

    • monsteryarns says:

      I really preferred the double wedding ring pattern – I was toying with the idea of different hues of self-striping yarn in the middle and not white background.
      And then I bought the pattern…
      I don’t think I could face knitting 94 of one shape and then sewing together!!
      I’ve kicked off the tree of life with lots of trepidation. I’ve got 11 months to complete. The pressure is on.

  12. Pingback: Progress on the Wedding Blanket |

Leave a Reply

