Citrus Placemats – A Quick Summer Make

Whilst I’m counting the days to our holiday (still too many), mentally preparing for our house move and working on those WIPs, I wanted something bright and colourful on the table at mealtimes. My two are now old enough to be trusted without the wax table covering we’ve had for years but I’m not quite ready for the washing and ironing needed to keep tablecloths clean and stain free. I’ve been flirting with using some Adriafil Navy since it arrived a few weeks ago. It’s a lovely chunky, soft and colourful cotton mix yarn which is perfect for all kinds of summer makes. The question was, what pattern? I thought that I would rework the groovyghan

groovyghan

but I found that the yarn was too bulky and the DC pattern made the fabric too uneven – not great for a tablemat. I dismissed a variation on granny squares as being too lacy. Whilst I was resting my mug on the crochet flower coasters I made last year the thought came to me. Fruit!

orange placemat

So these mats were born. Incredibly quick. Very colourful. And being cotton, durable, absorbent and washable. I like it when a plan comes together.

all the fruits tablemats

Rather than crochet in the spiral, each row is finished off and the next started. The pith is added on when the mat is finished. It is just a row of chains.

citrus fruit tablemats

After making four citrus fruits, I was in need of inspiration. Thank you for your ideas! For those not in the know, guesses please as to what this is.

watermelon tablemat

And this?!

dragonfruit tablemat

Let’s hope it’s obvious….

Enjoy making these – do get it touch if you’re interested in the crochet kit (yarn and pattern to make four placemats).

All fruit tablemats

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Craft, crochet, Summer, Yarn and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Citrus Placemats – A Quick Summer Make

  1. Pearl says:

    These are genius! And oh, soooo cute!!

Leave a Reply

