Selvedge Stitches

I am amazed that it took me a while to cotton on to selvedge stitches. Now I’m a total convert and knit them automatically but I realise that many people don’t. Well, here’s why they are so important.

But firstly, you may be wondering what a selvedge stitch is! A selvedge (or selvage) stitch is an additional stitch on either side of your work to form an edge. It’s really simple and very similar to framing a picture. It just provides the finishing touch.

selvedge photo

Once you’ve “framed” your knitting with a selvedge stitch on either side, it also makes joining your work so much easier – no  more guess work how to match up rows when sewing pieces together. And most importantly, you don’t lose any of the knitted fabric in the seam. It’s great!

Not only are selvedge stitches really useful, they are also very simple. All you need to remember is to cast on two extra stitches than is required by your pattern. There are lots of ways to do a selvedge stitch but here are two main ways.

knitted selvedge

This method produces a chain on the side of your work, with each chain extending over two rows.

slipped selvedge

The best thing is to experiment. Have fun!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting, selvedge stitch, Techniques and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Selvedge Stitches

  1. hardknitlife says:

    What a smart idea! I could have used this when knitting a 1/2 log cabin baby blanket! Why didn’t I think of this! I will certainly keep this in mind on my next project I need to seam or pick up stitches. Thanks for sharing!

    • monsteryarns says:

      You’re welcome.
      I was a bit like you and then I had the light-bulb above the head moment. I’m designing a mitred jacket and I think I would have gone mad without selvedge stitches.

  2. Pingback: Lace + Geometry = Lacy Shrug: a Pattern |

  3. Pingback: Easy Knit Stripy Baby Blanket – a pattern |

Leave a Reply

