Dahlia Cardigan – It’s Finished

Back in April I was a little short of spring inspiration and I found a few patterns to get my knitting juices flowing. A little untypically for me, I kept my focus and cast on the Dahlia cardigan a few days later.

dahlia cast on

The way this pattern works is by starting with the back lace panel knitted in the round and working the rest of the cardigan around it in a large triangle. The lace panel was a few hours work – I loved how the pattern just grew and grew.

dahlia lace

I chose a yarn which is gently self-striping from a spring green to a deep purple – it reminds me of crocuses. It has a nice sheen and slight fuzz and it’s soft to touch. A great combination for a spring-weight cardigan. And I had plenty of opportunity to experience it’s softness as I started on the acres of stocking stitch for the remainder of the cardigan.

dahlia one side

It’s starting to take shape

And more stocking stitch.

Dahlia frontFinally, a few weeks ago, a breakthrough! I finished the body and finally got to open up the armholes.

Dahlia with armholesFrom then, I got a little side-tracked with baby-wear, to return a few weeks later to finish the sleeves. For some reason, this took me for ever. Perhaps it has something to do with changing the pattern a few times then unknitting to get back to where I started… However like everything in life, the knitting was eventually finished, and with a little bit of nail-biting, I blocked it.

Dahlia blocking

And now, it’s finished! Front:

Dahlia finished1

 

Back:

Dahlia backI added in some short-rows around the shoulder to help the cardigan sit a little more squarely on the shoulders. I also made one side longer and angled to allow it to get it tucked in round the neck. I have a similar designed summer cardigan and I always get frustrated when I want to clasp it closed but can’t. This way round, I have the best of both worlds – waterfall(ish) front when open and with a self-closing mechanism.

Dahlia asymmetric frontAnd although I’m not 100% happy with everything about this cardigan – I’d prefer more short-rows on the shoulders and for both fronts to be longer, I am most definitely liking the lace back.

Dahlia lace2And looking at the weather forecast for the next few days, although we’re now in summer, I can see that this cardigan is going to get plenty of wear.

 

 

 

 

 

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Lace and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dahlia Cardigan – It’s Finished

  1. creative pixie says:

    This is beautiful, lots of hard work by the looks of it – Ooh I wish I had the patience.

  2. Febr12 says:

    Wow, like a piece of art!

  3. lollyknits says:

    What a lovely color!! I love the lace panel, it’s like an exciting surprise when you turn around 😛

    • monsteryarns says:

      It was bright sunlight when those photos were taken so the green is closer to spring grass than emerald but nevertheless it’s a great colour.
      I fell in love with the lace at the back – I now need to engineer situations where people look at my back so they notice the pattern 🙂 Vanity – thy name is a knitter!

  4. Leah says:

    I have had my eye on that pattern for a long time, and wow!!! You did an incredible job with it!!!! It’s simply beautiful!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thanks!
      Definitely a lovely pattern but consider making a shoulder for it and making the front your own design to suit your body shape. I monkeyed around with the lace on the sleeves and the sleeve length/type and just ended up following the pattern – more or less.

  5. mudarissa says:

    Gorgeous! I love the pattern on the back and adore the way u’ve shaped the front! Definitely worth all the hard work:)

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thank you! The best part is getting the wonderful comments from all you lovely knitters who have experience in the tears it costs to knit something.

  6. I always love this pattern. You chose a fantastic yarn for it too!

  7. Pingback: Lace Catastrophe |

Leave a Reply

