Mighty Mitres

I suppose it was only a question of time before I discovered and fell in love with mitres. I don’t know if you’ve come across them before, but they’re knitted squares, using scrap yarn if you like, and joined as you go to form beautiful, colourful blankets.

Mitre

And then of course, being a little obsessed with all things knitty, I carried on with my research and discovered that mitred blankets were really just the tip of the iceberg! I saw some really stunning scarves.

mitred scarf

And shawls, ponchos, jackets and wraps and…

mitered stitch markers

Mitered stitch markers

mitred button

Mitered button

mitred shawl

Mitered wrap

mitred shawl1

Mitered shawl

mitred skirt

Mitered skirt

mitred socks

Mitered socks

mitred top

Mitered tunic

mitred cushion

Mitered cushion

Mitered jacket

Mitered jacket

I’m in love. And thinking of ideas as we speak. My two creations so far are a neutral tone and a spring tone.

IMG_20140528_144814

Neutral palette

Neutral tone mitre

Spring tone palette

Spring tone palette

 

spring tone mitre

Cogs continue to turn in my brain to use this fantastic – and easy – method of combining colours. Watch this space!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in colour, Knitting, mitres and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Mighty Mitres

  1. itwasjudith says:

    just recently i was thinking of trying them – the look so interesting!
    i look forward to your future posts on mitred progresses πŸ™‚
    meanwhile, i hope to have some time to look up the stitch pattern

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thanks.
      There are broadly two methods – one with garter stitch and one without. They’re really quick to knit. My regret is not having a design or textile background to help with choosing colours. My colour choices are either too safe or a tad too wild!

  2. mudarissa says:

    Ooooo I like the look of this! Will definitely have to have a play with this knitting technique. Thank u so much for introducing me to it. Can’t wait to see how you use it:) happy knitting!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thanks!
      I first saw these in 70s colours and was promptly put off. But there are so many great variations. Look at designs by V. Hoxbro and and J Slicer-Smith for some lovely ideas.

  3. bcre8v2 says:

    Great post–you’ve inspired me! Even though I crochet, I’m looking forward to experimenting with crochet mitres.

  4. Pearl says:

    Ooh! I love it! I’ll have to give it a try!

  5. Pingback: Knitty Holiday Planning |

  6. Pingback: Mitre Jacket – a pattern |

  7. Daphne Randle says:

    I have been knitting my own version of mitred garments for over twenty years. I produce continuously knitted, seamless, contoured garments that follow the body shape and hang beautifully. It is such a fun way to knit and the variations are endless. So much more fun knitting something without an illustration. I hope to write a book on my techniques so others may have the pleasure of designing their own projects too. I had not heard of mitred squares when I started so, in effect, re- invented the wheel. Because of this, I chose to shape my squares differently to how I now see others do, which gives a less obvious diagonal line. I urge you all to give it a go.

Leave a Reply

