The Spiral Cot Blanket – a Pattern

I really have no idea why it took two attempts to get this pattern right. Perhaps I should rephrase – I really have no idea why I can’t count, knit and chat at the same time! I’ve had in mind to knit a baby blanket with a spiral pattern on it every since the vortex dog blanket.

Spiral Pram blanket

However, let me assure you, this is a really easy pattern, very showy (I think) and depending on the yarn you use, can be used for a throw (chunky yarn), baby blanket (DK) or even a shawl (sock yarn). In fact, this is the first pattern I’ve knitted that I think I’ll make again. I’m thinking that perhaps the baby camel and silk laceweight beaded yarn I bought last year at Fibre East has found a match.

There are many different versions of this type of pattern, but mine is below – hope you enjoy it. And the best bit is, I have now finished my “maiden aunt” projects

Centre of spiral pram blanket

Pattern

You really can use any type of yarn for this project, however I used four and half balls of a self-striping 50% wool, 50% acrylic yarn called ICE Colourway in lilac shades. The total yardage is 400m plus the cast off yarn. I’m treating the two separately as I used an i-cord cast off, which looks really super in a different colour from your project, so this is a good way to add colour if you are using one coloured yarn. The i-cord also adds a nice three-dimensional cast off which is lovely for little fingers to hold on to. The diameter of the finished blanket is just over 80cm which is perfect for outings in the summer. Obviously if you want a larger blanket just carry on knitting!

i-cord edging

I-cord edging

The blanket is knit in the round.

Cast on 8 stitches and divide over 4 DPNs evenly.
Set up rows:
Row 1-2 Knit all stitches.
Row 3 *YO, K1* and repeat from * to *. It is a good idea to place a marker after each K1 – it will save you time and effort to have to count too much later on (as I found out).
Row 4 and all even rows up to row 14: Knit all stitches
Row 5 *YO, K2* and repeat from * to * slipping each marker as you come to it.
Row 7 *YO, K3*  and repeat from * to * slipping each marker as you come to it.
Row 9 *YO, K1, YO, K1, K2tog* and repeat from * to * slipping each marker as you come to it.
Row 11 *YO, K1, YO, K2, K2tog* and repeat from * to * slipping each marker as you come to it.
Row 13 *YO, K1, YO, K3, K2tog* and repeat from * to * slipping each marker as you come to it.
Row 15 *YO, K1, YO, K2, YO, K2, K2tog*  and repeat from * to * slipping each marker as you come to it.
Pattern Rows:
Row 16 and all even rows: K to last two stitches, K2tog.
Row 17 and all odd rows: *YO, K1, YO, K2, YO, K to last 2 stitches, K2tog* and repeat from * to * slipping each marker as you come to it.

Keep on knitting rows 16 and 17 until your work is as big as you want it to be.

ready cot blanket

Cast Off
Depending on what you will be using your knitting for – decorative shawl or functional blanket, you will want a slightly different cast off. You can use any form of decorative cast off e.g. picot, but I used the i-cord cast off to create a solid edge.

Cast on 3 stitches to your left hand needle.
*Knit 2 stitches, K2tog through back loop.
Place the 3 stitches back on to the left needle and repeat from *.
When you get to the last two stitches just cast off as normal.

spiral pattern on pram blanket

Block and enjoy!

Do send me photos of your work if you decide to knit this pattern.

pram blanket

 

 

 

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in baby, children, circular knitting needles, Knitting, Summer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

71 Responses to The Spiral Cot Blanket – a Pattern

  1. Beautiful. And it works perfectly in that gorgeous yarn.

  2. Mind if I translate this into crochet terms? It’s gorjois!!

  3. Reblogged this on The Eclectic Poet and commented:
    Love this spiral blanket pattern! This will be a “must do” for some of my stash busting projects 🙂

  4. Pingback: The Spiral Cot Blanket – a Pattern | Pointe Shoes Punk Rock And Purl

  5. Thank you for sharing this lovely pattern, just about to add it to my ever growing to do list.

  6. Pingback: Spiral Pram Blanket ~ Take Two | Pointe Shoes Punk Rock And Purl

  7. Pingback: Knitty Holiday Planning |

  8. Patsy Utt says:

    I’ve sworn that I would stick to “idiot Knitting”—that is-simple, simple, simple!!! I’ve gone through many years of complicated knits—fishermen knits with English patterns, sweaters, socks, hats, etc. I just got tired of having to think and concentrate but this has inspired me to return to the old days and try this!! It is so pretty!!! Thank you for inspiring me! By the way, I*’m 79 yrs. old and have done lots of knitting since I was 8!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thanks for your comment – I’m so pleased you like the pattern. It really is simple and as you’re such an experienced knitter, this will fly off your needles in no time!

  9. Ashley says:

    Could this be done using circular needles instead of double pointed?? I haven’t quite mastered double pointed yet :/

    • monsteryarns says:

      You could knit this on circular needles – it’s only the first few rows which are problematic until you have enough fabric to easily do the Magic Loop or something similar. Hope you enjoy the pattern!

  10. vita venclauskas says:

    What size needle? you do not say what size to use and, what on earth, is DPN ? divide over 4 DPNs evenly. What does it mean?

    • monsteryarns says:

      You need to use the size of needle which is appropriate to the yarn which you’re working with. This pattern can be knitted with any weight yarn, it is up to you.
      I used DK yarn and therefore 4mm needles.
      DPN – double pointed needles.

  11. sharon says:

    Love the blanket I’m going to try it.but I have a ? Says row 1-3 knit then it says row 3 yo,k1 How can you hve 2 row 3

  12. Carolyn Rowe says:

    Love your pattern, thanks. Ready to start mine.

  13. Karla says:

    I have a question regarding row 16. Do you K2tog in each section and then slip the marker, or just at the end of the round? I’m slightly confused on that part. haha Thanks much!

  14. Cathy Massey says:

    I have tried 3 or 4 times to knit this afghan…..having problems getting it started…….is there a easy way to do it???????

    • monsteryarns says:

      Oh dear – very frustrating. What is causing the problem? DPNs? Joining? You could try knitting the first few rows flat and join in the round when you have enough stitches to hold the DPNs.

      • Cathy Massey says:

        After many attempts……..I am now knitting away. Trying to knit with the dpn’s was a challenge…………….It will not take me long to finish this one and stat another………Thanks for the input………

  15. Cathy Massey says:

    That should read……..start another one………..I may have some extra holes in it but I know the next one will be better……………LOL

  16. Carolyn Rowe says:

    I did get through the DPN part and put all on a circular needle…but, make a few errors so ripping it out and will start over maybe over the holiday weekend. The next one will look much better.

  17. Marisa says:

    Lovely pattern can’t wait to start and share it with my knitting group. One question start with DPN needles and when did you start with circular needles. Can you just start with circular if you want? Thanks again

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thank you – glad you like it!
      It’s definitely possible to start with circulars straight-away. I swapped over when I was in danger of losing stitches from the end of the DPNs.

  18. Helen says:

    I’ve just started this today for my grandbaby due in November. I have reached the limit of my circular needles.. was it easier to just buy a longer circular? with an 80cm diameter we are looking at approx. 2.5m circumference.. that is 3x80cm circulars ??

    I’ve got it down first time, no pulling out at all .. knitting mine in bernat mosaic calypso colourway.. it is looking amazing so far..

  19. Carolyn Rowe says:

    Helen your’s is beautiful, thanks for sharing.

  20. Karla says:

    LOVE it Helen! Awesome choice for yarn.

  21. Mary Jo says:

    I love this. I am about 47 rounds into it and my last section is smaller than the rest. Am I missing something? On the even rows are you supposed to K2tog at the end of every section or just the end of the round?

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hello Mary Jo
      You should K2tog at the end of each section otherwise you’re increasing by 3 three stitches each section and your end fabric would not lie flat.
      Not sure why your last section is smaller than the rest – you should have the same number of stitches in all the sections on every round. Perhaps you miscounted at the beginning? Sorry that I can’t be more specific!
      Glad you’re enjoying the pattern : )

      • Mary Jo says:

        Thank you for your quick response. I am relatively new to knitting. I was afraid I misunderstood row 17. A frogging we will go! It my fault for not thinking it through. I will post pics when finished.

      • monsteryarns says:

        Oh dear!
        Take heart. It took me several attempts to get this pattern right too : )

  22. I can’t quite make out what I should do for row 17 of this Spiral Cot Blanket. My math tells me I should have 71 stitches at the start of row 17. Would you please re-write the directions for row 17 again? It just looks a little goofy as it is now! I’m using the Ice Yarn of 5 colors and so far the design has only used two of them up to where I am. Can’t wait to see it grow!!
    Thank you so much for such a lovely pattern!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Sorry Pat, I have no idea how many stitches you need to have at the beginning of Row 17 but it would be an even number and I think it is 64. Personally I didn’t find it useful to count stitches in this pattern – it is best to mark each spiral beginning with a stitch marker and increase with the YO at the beginning and then one stitch in (which you’re then decreasing at the end of the segment straight away). Repeat for each segment (8 times). Not sure how to rewrite the pattern at that line as I used the same method of describing the stitches throughout!

      • I just don’t see how there can be an even number of stitches after row 16 has been completed. Row 16 is just knit and then the last 2 sts of the row is k2tog. Doesn’t that reduce the entire row by just one? It seems to me that here is an even number when you start row 16 and then there is one less. What am I missing?????

      • Karla says:

        In row 16, you k2tog at the end of each section… I did the same as you the first time.
        Hope that helps you…

    • monsteryarns says:

      Morning!
      Apologies – I’ve been wasting your time. You are right about the odd stitch count, I remember now that I put the k2tog in at the end of the even row to make sure the spiral stayed flat.
      In my favour, I can’t access the pattern right now and obviously my memory is not what it should be. Hope you didn’t spend too much time on this.
      Having said that, I really didn’t use a stitch count on this pattern, I just focussed on each segment and the YO/k2tog on the odd rows.

      • yarbrop says:

        Karla, you are a dear! Thank you so much for taking the time to see my distress and come to my aid! I did the K2tog in every group as you said and it’s working out! I hate to admit it, but I gave in and started using the stitch markers and the whole idea of “groups” is making sense! I thought the markers would slow me down! Now that I am focusing on the groups I see the pattern… Decrease the group size by 1 on row 16….then increase the group size by 2 on row 17. If I had taken the advice at the start of the pattern and used markers I might not have got myself so tangled up! I so appreciate all the supportive words!! I think I can do this now!

      • Karla says:

        You are ever so welcome! If you look through the comments you will see one from me asking almost the same thing. I too thought that you only decreased by one at the end of the whole row. Stitch markers have become my friends and a lifeline as well. Let them become yours too. Happy knitting!!!

  23. Pingback: Easy Knit Stripy Baby Blanket – a pattern |

  24. Gigilorraine says:

    Obviously many have had trouble reading this pattern. IMHO, the pattern should read as such:
    Row 16 and all even rows: K to last two stitches, K2tog. CORRECT? Or is K2tog each section in row 16?
    Row 17 and all odd rows: *YO, K1, YO, K2, YO, K to last 2 stitches {before marker), K2tog* and repeat from * to *.

    • Gigilorraine says:

      If Row 16 is correct with K2tog. at end of row, this leaves 71 stitches for row 17. Therefore one would K2tog every 9 stitches until the last section where you would K2tog after 8 stitches?

      • monsteryarns says:

        Perhaps I didn’t write the pattern logically enough for all. Perhaps my brain works differently from most. Sorry if it doesn’t make sense to you.
        I’m not sure I understand your question on Row 16. All stitches are knitted across all sections to the last two, which are knit together. Yes, this does create an uneven number of stitches in the following row.

      • monsteryarns says:

        I think I’ve suggested this before in comments – don’t get hung up about counting the stitches in your segments. There really is no need. Once the pattern is established and you have your stitch markers in place, you are just adding the YO pattern at the beginning of each segment and K2tog at the end of the segment so the fabric lies flat. I didn’t count the stitches, I have no clue how many I had in each segment and I didn’t provide a stitch count for that reason. It’s best just to go with the flow in this one and not over think. That’s what worked for me as well.

      • yarbrop says:

        I am not good at writing directions, but I can try to explain to you what you should do!  First of all, be sure that you are using markers, as the pattern suggested, in Row 3. When your markers are in place you will have 8 groups. Rows 1 & 2 are both ‘Knit all sts” so there are 8 sts in each of those 2 rows.  However, Row 3 is *YO, K1* and repeat from * to * so you will have 16 sts after Row 3 and 8 markers placed every 2 sts.  Row 16: K to the last 2 sts before each marker and then K2tog. This will result in one less stitch in each group.  After Row 15, you have 72 sts.  Therefore, Row 16 should have 64 (because there are 8 groups and you have lost one st per group).Row 17: *YO, K1, YO, K2, YO, K to last 2 sts, K2tog* and repeat from * to * for each group.  Essentially, you will increase two sts in each group so Row 17 will have 80 sts.   Row 16—–64 sts—-8 sts per groupRow 17—–80 sts—10 sts per groupcontinue repeating row 16 and 17. Each time you do a Row 16 you lose 1 st per group.Each time you do a Row 17 you gain 2 sts per group.Here’s what you get the second time you do Row 16 & 17:Row 16—–72 sts—-9 sts per groupRow 17—–88 std—11sts per group I am up to 36 sts per group  and it’s a neat pattern but I have a long way to go!  Good luck!

  25. qanknit says:

    On my copy of the pattern, I rewrote those two PATTERN ROWS as:
    Row 16 and all even rows: *k to last two stitches OF SECTION, k2tog* and repeat from * to *.
    Row 17 and all odd rows: *yo, k1, yo, k2, yo, k to last 2 stitches OF SECTION, k2tog* and repeat from * to *.

    I strongly suggest the use of stitch markers, one of a different colour to mark the beginning/end of round, and one at the end of each section.

  26. Karen G. says:

    First and foremost thank you for the wonderful pattern. I found myself back here because of row 16. Was happy to see I was not the only one confused by the pattern the way it was written lol. Now totally get what to do and have made the correction. For those not liking dpn because of dropping stitches have you heard of point protectors. I have had mine for eons and they look different but am attaching a link to ebay to show them. I am not promoting this seller at all I just quickly looked there so I could show what I am talking about so please do your own shopping for best product, price, seller etc. Hope this may help some I personally do not knit with dpn without using these ends.

    http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-40pcs-20pcs-small-20pcs-large-knitting-needles-point-protectors-/290809678724?hash=item43b59b8b84

    Sorry cannot figure out how to attach a picture or make a link useable.

  27. Dorothy says:

    I plan on making this soon. But thinking I would like it as a shawl instead. Hopefully I’ll remember to send you a picture. Thanks for sharing th ed pattern.

  28. Stacia Wiens says:

    Love this pattern! I had to add a border because the yarn was light and the edges kept rolling. This turned out super cute, thank you! How can I upload pictures?

    • monsteryarns says:

      So happy you like the blanket. I’d love to see photos – WP doesn’t let you post them. If you have a moment, you could post on the Monster Yarns FB page. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

