The Vortex Dog Blanket

So after my feverish knitting for my Princess Pooch to protect her from the elements, not only has the weather improved but she has also very pointedly showed me (by rolling into something very, very smelly) that she did not want to make any fashion statements. But she hasn’t stopped shivering. This is my solution.

vortex dog blanket

A while ago I came across this irresistible pattern. I don’t know about you, but I just had to try it. Those swirls in different colours, some off-centre, just totally captivated me. Plus crochet is just so fast!

So here are the individual vorteces:

Vortex 1 Vortex 2 Vortex 3 Vortex 4

I used chunky yarn in yellow, navy, apple green and grey. The half-way stage was reached really quickly but then the remainder is a slightly longer commitment on each vortex. The squares really are quite big using chunky yarn – about 60cms. The other thing I noticed was that the vortex square which is off-centre needed quite a lot of blocking – I must have got the tension/stitch count all wrong because it was just  not wanting to lie flat.

Word of warning to the uninitiated – these squares have a LOT of ends to work-in. So many in fact, that I still haven’t finished them all despite the fact that it is now in full use.

Main image for Vortex dog blanket

May your week be better than mine so far!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in crochet and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Vortex Dog Blanket

  1. Wow! Your dog looks so cosy ~ they appreciate our crocheted blankets too don’t they? 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Spiral Cot Blanket – a Pattern |

  3. I love the baby spiral blanket, it will certainly make a dent in my stash! And will keep my lap warm whilst knitting it in the winter months.

Leave a Reply

