Toddler Hoodie Cardigan – a Pattern

Since moving almost 18 months ago, I have met many genuinely lovely people. And some of those people have had, or are about to have babies. And horror of horrors, I have not knitted for any of them! There is one special little boy who is now a smiley toddler who I had in mind when I created this cardigan. I hope he enjoys wearing it. toddler hoodie

Pattern

This is a very easy pattern knit entirely in garter stitch so suitable for beginners. The measurement is suitable for a child 12-18 months old.

You will need as much contrasting and/or self striping yarn as you can live with. I used three skeins of the red and white and two skeins of the blue and white but there was a lot left over of both skeins. You could knit each sleeve, front, back and hood in different colours and bring it all together with the edging. Let your imagination fly!

I used 3.5mm needles with this yarn. The tension is 20 stitches and 28 rows = 10 cms with the needles you are using with your yarn. You will also need four buttons.

Back
Cast on 66 stitches and knit in garter stitch until the work measures 28 cms from cast on edge. Cast off. That’s the back done!

Front (make 2)
Cast on 3 stitches.
Row 1 (RS): Sl 1, (k1, yo, k1) in next st, k1 – 5 sts at the end of this row.
Row 2: Knit.
Row 3 (Increase Row): Sl 1, kfb, knit to last 2 sts, kfb, k1 – 7 sts.
Rep last 2 rows 19 more times – 45 sts when all increases have been completed.
Next Row (WS): Knit.
Next Row (RS): Sl 1, k2tog (this is the corner), knit to last 2 sts, kfb (front edge), k1 – 45 sts.
Rep last 2 rows until front edge measures 23cm, end with a WS row.

Shape Neck
Next Row (RS): Sl 1, k2tog, knit to end of row – 44 sts.
Next Row: Knit.
Rep last 2 rows until side edge measures 18 cms, ending with a WS row.

Shape Shoulder
Next Row (RS): Sl 1, k2tog, knit to last 3 sts, k2tog, k1.
Next Row: Knit.
Rep last 2 rows until 5 sts rem.
Last Row: Sl 1, k3tog, k1 – 3 sts. Bind off.

Sleeves (make 2)
Cast on 36 sts.
Knit 5 rows in one colour. Change to second colour, and knit 5 rows.
Increase Row: K1, kfb, knit to last 2 sts, kfb, k1 – 38 sts.
Rep last 6 rows 7 more times – 52 sts when all increases have been completed.
Work in Garter st until piece measures 18 cm from beg, end with a WS row.
Bind off.

Hood
Cast on 5 sts.
Row 1 (RS): K1, (k1, yo, k1) in next st, place marker, k1, pm, (k1, yo, k1) in next st, k1 – 9 sts.
Row 2: Knit.
Increase Row: K1, kfb, knit to 1 st before marker, kfb, slip marker, k1, sm, kfb, knit to last 2 sts, kfb, k1 – 13 sts.
Rep last 2 rows 23 more times – 105 sts when all increases have been completed.
Divide for Front Opening: K52 sts, join a second ball of yarn (or use the other end hidden in the middle of the skein) and bind off 1 st , knit to end of row.
Decrease Row: Sl 1, k2tog, knit to end of first side, with second ball of yarn, knit across all sts of second side to last 3 sts, k2tog, k1 (corner made) – 51 sts remaining on each side.
Repeat Decrease Row 47 more times – 4 sts rem on each side.
Next Row: (K1, k2tog, k1) on each side – 3 sts rem on each side.
Last Row:(K3tog) on each side. Fasten off.

Finishing
Sew the shoulder seams together, then sew the sleeves to the body. Next sew the sleeve and side seams. Sew the top of the hood together and then sew it to the neck edge. All that remains is to pick up and knit 5 rows of garter stitch all the way along the entire edge of the cardigan starting at a side seam. You are likely to need circular needles to fit all the stitches. I cheated and knitted along the edge and hood and other edge, then knitted around the bottom. That is much easier! Place a marker where you want the button holes and when you are knitting the second row of garter stitch and have reached a marker, k2 tog, yo to create a button hole. Sew on buttons.

Block lightly and watch your favourite toddler wear it!

cardigan back

 

 

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in children, Knitting, Patterns, Yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Toddler Hoodie Cardigan – a Pattern

  1. Lucy Bishop says:

    Thank you so much Judit for Bert’s beautiful jumper, he looks super cute in it! 🙂 big big hugs xxx

  2. Marie-Reine says:

    Hello; I have trouble with k1 yo k1 ,it’s increase 2 sts.

    Can you explain please.

  3. Judy Bowles says:

    As a beginner, may I just say that although garter stitch is a sinch, the actual pattern itself is not….not for me anyway. I am not sure on many of the instructions, especially the making up at the end. I realise that for many knitters they will be totally familiar with your instructions, so I am not trying to be awkward, but just to point out that although the actual stitch itself might be easy, that doesn’t necessarily mean a beginner will be able to handle the whole garment….with all its increasing, decreasing, markers etc etc.

  4. Prue says:

    I am also having trouble about putting garment together am just doing fronts at the moment and it does not look right to me a diagram of fronts would be helpful.Also the number of stitches to pick around the garment would also help.I just love the look of the garment.So want it just right.I am an experienced knitter so the mind boggles to say its easy.Thanks so much

    • monsteryarns says:

      For the fronts you will have two rectangles knitted from corner to corner rather than edge to edge. Until you’re done, it will look wrong because you’re knitting on the bias.
      I didn’t count my pick up stitches and frankly nor should you. The number of your stitches will depend on where you pick up from the garter stitch edge and your tension. The main aim is to have the edging provide a ‘frame’ for your work so that it is either too loose or too tight.
      You say you’re ‘also’ having problems with the front. Are there any other areas that are not clear?
      I am not a trained designer, I make things up as I go along. I’m happy to explain but I don’t have slick diagrams to provide.

      • Prue says:

        Any diagram would do.The part I don’t understand is what side to start neck shaping. I marked the front edging where you stated in pattern so I hope u start neck shaping on that side.Thanks ever so much for your reply

      • monsteryarns says:

        For the front, you will be knitting two of the same rectangles so the instructions hold good for both right and left sides – obviously for one of the fronts, you will turn the rectangles so that the neck edges are facing each other..
        It doesn’t matter which side you decrease for the neck as long as it’s from the opposite side you then decrease for the sleeve. You are just knitting the top corners of the rectangle.
        I can’t attach a diagram. Email me and I will send you a file.

      • roweiproweip says:

        Thanks so much.That would be great

      • Prue says:

        You also must be a very talented knitter to have designed such a beautiful garment.Thats why I want to finish it

      • roweiproweip says:

        My email address is roweip@xtra.co.nz

      • roweiproweip says:

        How do I send you an email.Or when will you email me the diagram.Thanks

      • roweiproweip says:

        All I really need to know is do you start neck shaping on same side as where you say in pattern front edge.Even a simple diagram will do.You must be so talented to design this beautiful jacket.I dont want to go any further as I will be unpicking once again.I really want to finish this garment.Thanks Prue

      • monsteryarns says:

        I can’t attach a diagram to a response
        Email me and I will send you a file.

  5. roweiproweip says:

    Thanks so much that would be really helpful

  6. roweiproweip says:

    When will you email me diagram.Thanks so much

  7. Julie says:

    Hi I am quite a new knitter and dont really consider myself thick but I have knitted the back (easy) ok now I am trying to knit Front… It says Cast on 3 stitches (Ok done that) Row 1. (RS) Right side (ok) S1 1, (k1,yo,k1) in next st,k1 – 5 sts at the end of this row. (I am not getting how I get to five stitches… please can you break this down for me as I don’t understand – I can see an increase where I yo (Yarn over – right?) but where is the other increase made to make 5? I am struggling to understand some of your abbreviations and hope you can help as I love the design and really would love to make this.
    Maybe you could supply me with a conversion of your abbreviations for me to have an idiots guide would be very much appreciated. Thank you

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hi Julie
      The first row of the front starts with an increase the following way – slip 1, then knit 1, yarn over, knit 1 IN THE SAME STITCH, knit 1. That is five stitches in total on your needle.
      I use the standard knitting abbreviations but for ease, kfb = knit front and back loops of the stitch, k2tog = knit two stitches together.
      To help you to visualise, you are starting by knitting the corner of the front and knitting diagonally up the front of the cardigan.
      Hope this helps!

      • Julie says:

        Perfect, Just to let you know its coming together perfectly now! Thank you for your patience.

  8. clare says:

    god what a nightmare, I can’t follow this pattern for the front bits at all 😦 not easy and I too am an experienced knitter

Leave a Reply

