Socks – the New Frontier

Each year, I have a list of projects I want to try. They are usually either a new design or a new technique. My boredom threshold is incredibly low and I struggle with knitting the same thing more than once and for me knitting is all about learning new skills as well as being creative. Socks were low on my list from last year, but on a whim, I cast on Brighton Rock by Rhian Drinkwater as I loved the spiral semi-lacy design.

As with all new projects, excitement was high at the beginning. The cast-on April 8th at 7.30am (to explain the weirdly blue light):
Cast on sock

 

The emerging pattern – April 9th:
the emerging patternThe decision on the length – April 10th:
What length.The turning of the heel – April 13th:
turning the heelAnd the first finished sock – April 15th:
One finished sockUnfortunately I then realised that my first sock is not perfect (the spirals don’t all meet) and is too big for me. That slowed things down a bit. However, I am happy to announce that I didn’t not shirk from my duty to finish the socks and here they are in their full, although not perfect, glory. I have decided to send them to my Aunt who has the right size feet to wear these.
finished socksThese are one up from the boot socks I made earlier this year and next will be a truly lacy pair! How about this one – Bayerische? If you have other pattern suggestions please let me know.

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting, self-striping yarn, socks and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Socks – the New Frontier

  1. my first pair of socks fit someone else better too lol 🙂

  2. Pearl says:

    Applause!! I love sock knitting and, due to ‘second-sock syndrome’, have taken to knitting them two at a time. That way, at least the imperfections are symmetrical 😉

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thank you : )
      I totally understand the second sock syndrome, and I was really struggling. Next time I will try the magic trick of knitting them both together. But I really do want to try a more challenging pattern too! Perhaps I’ll only complicate things one step at a time…

  3. Pingback: Countdown to the New Year |

Leave a Reply

