Spring Inspiration – a collection of patterns

Now that Spring is officially here,  I’ve been looking around for inspiration for lightweight spring-like patterns. I’d like to share them with you.

My current favourite is called Spring Cloud – the shawl neck and the combination of mohair and merino make this top warm and floaty, just like a spring cloud. And the simpleness of the pattern will just make it fly off the needles.
spring cloudSpring also means lace – the wide stitches trap air and keep you warmer than you think. Here are three patterns that have gone on to my ever-growing “To Do” list.

1. The Dahlia Cardigan – a perfect mix of floral but modern lace, flowing lines (it has a waterfall front) and ease of use.
dahlia cardigan back

2. Feminine Spring top – great to take you from office to party seamlessly.
spring top

3. I love this one as I like layered looks and this top would look fantastic over a polo neck or bikini – Stonecutter sweater
stonecutter sweaterTo ward off those chilly Spring winds here are two wraps that caught my eye.

1. The Clementine shawl with a clever narrowed tie at each end to keep the shawl in place when it’s windy without having to hold on.
clementine shawl2. The dramatic Shipwreck shawl. This shawl has so many wonderful textures linked to the sea that I just had to get this into my list although it has nothing to do with Spring.
shipwreckAnd then of course there are the children. If mine were younger, I could just see the two of them in brightly coloured useful vests like these:
spring vestFinally, I just had to share this with you. You would never have thought that a mere six months ago I thought door wreaths were a little too twee for me. I now love them! They’re individual, fun and decorative without breaking the bank. You can make one to celebrate any occasion. And this Spring wreath has the added advantage, if any more were needed, that you could upcycle a scarf to make it. Love it!
spring wreathAs ever, my problem is lack of time. Hope you like some of these patterns.

 

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Patterns, Yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Spring Inspiration – a collection of patterns

  1. lollyknits says:

    That top is really beautiful. I feel like I need one now >.<

    • monsteryarns says:

      That’s how I feel! But I’m just wondering how often I’d be able to wear a top like that.
      So I’m being sensible and picking a colour for the Dahlia cardigan and casting on as soon as I’ve finished the socks I’m knitting for my aunt. Funny thing is I can’t think of it in any other colour than purple (as in the photo) but I don’t wear purple…
      Happy Easter!

  2. Hannie says:

    I have got a pattern for a crochet dress but might need to wait and see if I have a girl or boy to know if it’s worth making it. Then again I have a friend who expecting a girl.

  3. Jackie says:

    I would love to get the pattern for the Children Vest.

  4. Pingback: Dahlia Cardigan – It’s Finished |

Leave a Reply

