Dog Coat – a Quick Pattern

Last week I asked whether I should knit my spoilt pooch a coat and the response was an overwhelming “Yes”. So I got on with it and for the time being, I left the work-intensive angel wings intarsia for another time and stuck with safe stripes instead. So what do you think? Of the coat of course! I already know the dog is cute.

dog coat 2

My husband thinks that she looks like a colourful armadillo. And the pooch herself doesn’t much care for the extra layer of wool  on her back. I’m hoping that when it is truly windy and cold, she’ll be happy for the insulation.

It took me a while to come up with something I was happy with. There are many designs out there – v-necks, polo necks, leggings, lace, spots, shark fins and the works. I did want something plain-ish with as few fussy buttons or fastenings as possible. My dog doesn’t sit still long enough to fuss around with buttons too much. And whilst charging around, the buttons are likely to get pulled off so I wanted a pull on, pull of design but nothing round the legs as she wouldn’t walk with leggings on.

If you’re interested in the pattern, here it is:
You will need standard DK in two colours. I chose a self-striping orange/yellow/green which I have been in love with for a while, and was just waiting for the right project and a bottle green to really make the stripes “pop” and 3.5mm and 4mm knitting needles.
Tension is 22 stitches to 29 rows – 10 cms on 4mm.

It’s important to measure your dog, obviously, but I’ve got a medium sized pooch and this fits her well. If you know your tension, you can increase/decrease the size as required.

Using 3.5mm needles cast on 70 stitches and knit in seed stitch for 6 rows.
Using 4mm needles and in stockinette, knit two rows of each colour and at the same time increase one stitch each end of every alternate row twice. You don’t need to cut the yarn for each colour change, you can carry it on the side but make sure you don’t pull it too tight.

Carry on in pattern until the fabric covers your dog’s back – about 50 cms in the case of my pooch. End with a RS row.

Next WS row – continue in pattern for 37 stitches. Put the rest of the stitches on a holder. Continuing in pattern, decrease 1 stitch at neck edge of next 3 rows, then decrease 1 stitch at neck edge every alternate row four times, then decrease 1 stitch at neck edge on the fourth row. 29 stitches.

Continue in pattern for the next eight rows then whilst knitting in pattern, increase 1 stitch at neck edge on the fourth row, increase 1 stitch at neck edge every alternate row four times, increase one stitch at neck edge for the next 3 rows.

Graft with live stitches from holder to form the neckhole. With 3.5mm circular  needles pick up and knit six rows of seed stitch to stop the material from curling – but this is not necessary. Similarly using 3.5mm needles, pick up and knit six rows of seed stitch around the edge of the coat.

For the strap – using 3.5mm needles cast on 12 stitches and knit in seed stitch until it is long enough to hold the edges of the coat snug on your dog – for mine it was around 15 cms.

Sew strap to edge of coat, button to the middle of the strap and create a loop for the button to go into on the opposite end of the dog coat. If necessary, block lightly avoiding seed stitch edges.dog coat 1

If you use this pattern, please send me a photo of the finished item!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Knitting, my design, Patterns, Yarn and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Dog Coat – a Quick Pattern

  1. Pingback: The Vortex Dog Blanket |

  2. Avril says:

    what is seed stitch please

  3. Ivy says:

    Must have misunderstood your direction in finishing off the neck band. Can you clarify a little more? I’m to the place where instructed to join the stitches on the holder.

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hello
      Not sure exactly where you are but in effect once you’ve finished the body and placed the stitches on the holder you are knitting the wide band which goes around the neck/chest of the dog. You are then grafting those live stitches with the live stitches on the holder – creating a circle. Once you’ve joined your stitches, you can then add a seed stitch border on the inside of the circle (where the dog’s neck goes) and on the outside edge all the way round the coat.
      I hope this helps.

  4. Ivy says:

    I guess I don’t know what you mean when you say to graft the stitches

    • monsteryarns says:

      Please look out for a blog entry called Kitchener bind-off – a tutorial, on my blog. That wil explain all. Alternatively you can just bind off each side normally and then sew them together but that way your join will be quite bulky and visible.

  5. Didi Neige says:

    I was having the same problem at the neck edge. Perhaps your pattern instructions should mention that stitches need to be sewn/grafted/joined together.I was trying to join and continue knitting and was having a nightmare. After reading further…thanks for questions/answers….I can now continue!!

  6. Didi Neige says:

    Grafting calls for the same number of stitches, which is not the case in this pattern. How did you reduce the number of stitches on the holder, before grafting…the pattern started of with 70 stitches..then there was an increase to 74 stitches…if I have 35 stitches on the neck piece…I have to join with 39 stitches on the holder….help……

    • monsteryarns says:

      Totally my bad. Must have been writing that post in the middle of the night!
      I’ve just updated the stitch count – thanks for pointing it out. If you already have 35 stitches on a holder, just reduce the other half of the neck band by two stitches.
      Thanks for pointing this out and sorry!

  7. Amanda says:

    This was my first attempt at something other than a scarf or hat. I decided to make it all one color to use up some left over yarn. I am so happy with the way it turned out and my little pug, Chloe, loves it too.

  8. mis253 says:

    This is a great dog coat! I cast on 50 stitches for my smaller dog. However, I can’t figure out the neck part. Can you please give more detailed steps for a beginner for the neck? Thanks!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thanks.
      I would knit 27 stitches rather than 37 stitches (following the rule of half plus two stitches). I would then follow the same decrease and increase as the pattern states as the neck for a smaller dog would still need the same curve. However whilst you’re knitting and it looks too big, do one less decrease (and matching increase).
      Hope this helps. Good luck!

  9. Amy France says:

    Hi,
    This is my first attempt at something other than a scarf or shawl as well, and I may have more questions as I go along. For now, in the body when we begin increasing by a stitch at the end of alternating rows twice, does this mean that we only increase by one stitch at the end of two rows then keep knitting in stockingette for the length of the coat? The ‘twice’ has me confused; I tried finding information on the web to no avail. Thanks in advance, and thank you for providing this pattern and all of the helpful responses you’ve already provided. Cheers!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Glad you like the pattern!
      “increase one stitch each end of every alternate row twice” means
      you increase one stitch at the beginning of the row and one stitch at the end of the row i.e. two stitches. This is your first increase.
      You purl one row.
      The next knit row you increase one stitch at the beginning of the row and one stitch at the end of the row. i.e. you have now increased a total of four stitches. This is your second increase.
      You are done.

  10. betsy says:

    Enjoy knitting for charities and would like to knit sweaters for dogs ‘ in the pound ‘. The floors must get quite cold for dogs while they wait to be adopted. Too, given their circumstances, they can be suffering from malnutrition and feel the cold even more so. So, I’d like to try this pattern for them, using my left-over yarn! Thank you for the pattern!

  11. Pingback: Countdown to the New Year |

  12. Shorty says:

    I love this pattern! I made it a little smaller by casting on 60 instead of 70. I finished the sweater but the neck is way too small! The size is perfect except for the neck. I pulled out my work to the point where you put the stitches on a holder. I don’t know how to adjust the pattern to make the neck bigger. Any advice. Thank you

    • monsteryarns says:

      Have you any idea by how many stitches the neck would need to be bigger? If no, try guesstimating. Rather than reducing by eight stitches, reduce by five/six only to redress the size differential. Smaller dogs tend to have proportionately smaller bodies but their heads are still quite large 🙂

  13. Paula says:

    Knitted this for dogs in rescue looked great when finished hope that it keeps them warm.

  14. Siobhan says:

    Hi
    I have got half way around the neck but it looks like it will end up as a really small neck hole. Should I just increase number of rows to increase size ?
    Thanks

    • monsteryarns says:

      Morning!
      Without seeing the size, it’s a bit difficult to suggest the best fix. If the neck hole is already tok small, you may need to rip back and reduce less so that the neck doesnt have an uncomfortable funnel feel to it. However if where you got to so far is fine, then increasing the number of stitches as you suggest should be fine.
      Is that what you mean? I got a bit confused as you mention rows…

      • Siobhan says:

        Would I be right in thinking that you have to do the same thing to both sides of the neck ? Else the neck would only have a total of 38 rows (if I have added them correctly).
        Thanks

      • monsteryarns says:

        Definitely! Otherwise you’d end up with a lop-sided neck and an unhappy dog 🙂

  15. mary says:

    darling pattern…..just too complicated for a beginner, I have 5 dogs , do chartable work and would like to start doing some sweaters quickly and easily, just can’t get past body and the color changes are too fussy and hard to manage. would love to see a simpler version . thanks

    • monsteryarns says:

      OK – ignore the colour changes and just knit in one colour.
      When you get to the neck, think that you’re knitting a long piece of material that reaches all the way round the dog’s neck to reach round the other side – a bit like a scarf.
      Hope this helps!

  16. Jessica says:

    Hi, loved this pattern! I wanted to knit sone jumpers to sell for charity to raise money for the Dogs’ a Trust. However, I too got stuck on the neck hold and found it far too small. So, to reiterate Siobhan, above, do I have to mirror the pattern for the other side of the neck and knit the exact same thing? I’m very confused :(.

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hello!
      When you are knitting the neck, you are knitting up one side, round the top and down the next side of the neck to create the hole for the head. There is no need to repeat the pattern on the other side. The decrease is where you are knitting the side of the neck, the knit even rows where you are knitting the back of the neck and the increase rows where you are knitting the other side of the neck.
      The neckline is snug – I’ve got a cocker and she has a long thin neck. If you need a bigger neck hole, knit more than eight rows in the back of the neck to fit your dog. Hope this helps!

  17. Jessica says:

    Hello, sorry but I have another question! You mention making a loop for the button. – how did you do this, please?!

  18. Val Exner says:

    I’m looking for a knitting pattern for a chiwawa. For a sweater or a coat.

  19. elaine says:

    Have successfully knitted this dog coat but do not know how to send a photo. Elaine

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hi Elaine
      Thanks so much for getting in touch. It’s difficult to send photos via WordPress but if you have a moment, I’d love you to upload it on to the Monster Yarns Facebook page or send it to @Monsteryarns on Twitter 🙂
      Happy New Year!

  20. Janis says:

    I made this sweater for an elderly basset hound. Except for modifying the neck opening to make it a bit larger, the fit is perfect. The style is perfect as well. There are no armholes which is important when choosing a pattern for an arthritic pet. The sweater is loose fitting enough to be comfortable but snug enough to be cozy. Thank you!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Thank you for getting in touch and I’m so pleased that the pattern was helpful! Lovely to hear positive comments – some people struggled a bit with this pattern 🙂

      • Dianne Lacelle says:

        Hope you see this. Emma, showing off her new dog coat. You can not see the neck part, but I I finished it off, all in the black yarn. She gets so many compliments. Sent from my iPad

        >

      • monsteryarns says:

        Thanks so much for trying – but WP won’t allow photos in their commentary threads 😦
        If you have a moment, perhaps you could put the photo on my FB Page Monsteryarns?
        I’m sure she is very pretty!

  21. You could definitely say that the Ugly Christmas Sweater has, as a vehicle for nostalgia, jumped the shark—or, you know, jumpered it.

  22. Cookie Pieczonka says:

    Need coat for welsh corgi chow mix. Long and low, very short legs. Shelter adoption. Any ideas??

    • monsteryarns says:

      Sorry for the late reply.
      You may need to just knit a rectangle that fits over the dog and then add the neck fitting after. I don’t really have a pattern in mind – I tend to knit as I go along!

  23. Sandra wirkkunen says:

    This sweater looks cute but could u explain to me your definitions of some of the stitches as I am from Canada and are definitions r different.
    Thank you
    Sandra

Leave a Reply

