Knitting Stripes in the Round

I’ve been doing a lot of knitting in the round recently. And for all its ease and convenience, knitting stripes in the round has left me a little baffled.

Jogless Circular Knitting

Please don’t say you can’t see it. It’s there. A sort of hiccup of the lilac stripe and an uneven join on the navy rib cast on. It bothers me as it appears on such a small garment and my eye keeps on being drawn to it. And I’m sure it would be much more  noticeable if I was doing a French inspired stripy jumper like this.

French stripy jumper

Apologies for the slightly unnecessary use of eye-candy. So about those jogs. Apparently this is how to fix them – on the first round where you are changing colour, knit all stitches as normal BUT on the next round slip the first stitch of the new colour. Isn’t that a simple fix?

Thank you to TECHknitting for explaining it all to me.

I didn’t find out about this until after I finished my project, but I will be doing that for sure next time!

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Colours in the round, Knitting, Techniques, Yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Knitting Stripes in the Round

  1. Freyalyn says:

    If you’re doing lots of narrow stripes, though, changing the colour in the same place will result in a long line of slipped stitches and therefore a bit of a pull through the fabric. Move it a st along each time you change colour and it’ll work.

    • Thanks Freyalyn. I’ve not knitted too many stripes before – prefer self-striping yarn. But now I know the tip to make it look seamless, I will probably do some more.

  2. soknitsome says:

    I’m working on ravello right now which has stripes and I also used the technique on TECHknitting – it makes such a difference.

  3. Pearl says:

    I was having the same problem and did a little research. I wrote a post on knitting jogless stripes. If you’re interested…http://pearls-toronto.com/2013/01/09/simply-striped/

Leave a Reply

