Cowl Inspirations from Spring Cleaning my Stash

I’ve been having  a little clear out of my yarn stash and pattern ideas recently. Like many, I have a number of one/two skein “wonders” and it is difficult to know what to do with them all. With the change of the month to the last few weeks of winter and seeing the first few tentative sprigs of snowdrops and crocus, I have used my few balls of yarn to give me inspiration to create lighter neck-wear – those bulky winter scarves really need a rest!

Simple Knitted Snoods

Using bulky yarn and size 10mm needles, cast on 42 stitches and join in the round. Knit six rounds in 1 x 1 ribbing. Change to main colour and continue in 1 x 1 ribbing until the end of the skein. I joined another skein of yarn in the same colour as I wanted the snood to sit properly over my head and cover my neck. Finish with six rounds of the darker colour.

cowl4

cowl3

 

I used one skein of Adriafil Vesuvio in Black and two skeins of Gold and then I made one in Petrol! Quick satisfying knits.

 

 

 

 

 

 

2. February Lace Crochet-Along

As a complete contrast solid neck-wear, I wanted to make something warm but lacy. I saw some flowers covered in frost and it led to this.

laceThis is a very simple pattern – one row repeats. It’s suitable for beginners or experienced crocheters wanting an easy and fast project. The yarn used is Katia Lux in Silver a wonderful, soft, fine yarn with a slight metallic sheen. It is available in five other colours. One skein makes approximately 60″ scarf. The pattern and yarn is available for £6.50, the pattern alone is £1.50.

3. Asymmetric Crochet Cowl

And then for something different for a teenager or someone young-at-heart. A quick crochet project creating a stretchy asymmetric cowl with a funky zip feature. You can also use buttons as an alternative. Pattern is available for £1. Any yarn giving a gauge of 17 st x 20 rows in sc (most DK and Aran yarns).

cowl1

cowl2

I hope these patterns will inspire you to create something new for the changing season.

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Craft, crochet, Knitting, Patterns and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cowl Inspirations from Spring Cleaning my Stash

  1. lollyknits says:

    The zipper cowl is crazy cool!!

  2. Pingback: It DOES Matter Where You Put Your Hook |

Leave a Reply

