Knitting Gloves

My other keen interest at the moment is knitting gloves. My interest was kindled last year when one of the ladies made herself a pair of fingerless gloves after one of my looming tutorials. I made a pair for myself and then used some fine alpaca to make another pair but with a different feel – a bit finer and more elegant.

Capture

The floodgates opened after that and all family members close and far started clamouring that their fingers needed warming up. My knitting went into over-drive. I completed a pair for  my father – of course didn’t take a photo and now they’re lost to me being several thousand miles away. However they looked very similar to these i.e. plain. I know my father you see. Best to keep things simple and not fancy. I don’t have his measurements so I knitted “blind” but chose a yarn which was very forgiving (100% aran wool) and kept going. Luckily they fit perfectly.

CaptureMy husband came next. Being at the other end of the character spectrum, he wanted fingerless pair which was manfully colourful. So after several false starts and quite a lot of bad language, I ended up with these. If anyone is interested, drop me a line and I will let you have the pattern.

Jpeg

My elder son is still waiting. I’m a little reluctant to take the plunge and make him a complex pair for two reasons – his hands are likely to grow quickly so not sure how much use he’ll get out of them and since I can no longer attach his gloves via his coat on a string (not a good look for teenagers), I’m not convinced that the gloves would ever see a second outing. Perhaps I’ll just prevaricate until there is no need for gloves!

I would like to pass on my recent experience with gloves to save you some precious time and frustration. 

  1. If you don’t get on with double pointed needles, knit gloves flat and join with mattress stitch. Seriously. It saves so much angst. I have never quite perfected the art of using circulars with gloves!
  2. If at all possible, take a measurement or even draw round the hand you’re knitting for. There really is no such a thing as an “average” hand.
  3. Do vary the length of the fingers for the person you’re knitting for. Standard lengths are fine, but inevitably there will be a tight thumb joint or miles of “spare” on the little finger.
  4. Whatever the shape of the hands, start the fingers on the same row. Otherwise it will look like alien gloves. Trust me.
  5. Learn three-needle cast off. The best for gloves and mittens.
  6. Fourchette – the gussets between the fingers. I found it well nigh impossible to avoid holes appearing between these gussets and the gloves themselves. Perhaps this caused the most bad language. I can honestly say that when the gloves are worn, you can’t see them at all so don’t fret too much when you’re knitting this.
  7. Match your knitted gloves to your intended recipients taste – frill to the wrist for style, embroidery for fun, a bit of Fair Isle for the one you truly love, fliptops for the indecisive, texture for manliness. Or just throw caution to the wind and add your own style to them!
  8. Gloves are knitted with the thumbs facing right for both gloves. This determines the order you knit the fingers.

I think that’s enough to be getting on with – I’m starting to sound a little to fervent.

Hope you enjoy your knitted gloves.

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in gloves, Knitting, my design and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Knitting Gloves

  1. PJ Lightning says:

    I’ve now knitted several pairs of full fingered gloves with one of your knitting looms.
    I’ve tried a couple of different workarounds to deal with the big gap when going from one side of the loom to the other on the fingers.
    I’ve tried using flat stitch for that bit while the rest of the glove is in e wrap. That works fairly well but still results in some gaps that need closing with some needle work.
    I tried a stitch I call infinity wrap (I’ve never found its real name), which would be impossible to describe here, which left fewer gaps but the whole finger ended up very loose.
    Now I am trying a different idea pinched from something the nifty knitted sells in the US. I used some self drying solid rubber, some thin bits of bamboo, and some spare pegs, to bridge the gap with two internal pegs.
    The fingers are coming up larger, but the stitching is more consistent. I’m still experimenting but it’s giving wearable results at least. The pegs are rather wobbly and fiddly to use but I may be able to improve them when my next batch of the rubber stuff arrives.

    • It’s the bit between the fingers that’s tricky even when using needles – you usually have to cast on extra stitches.
      Building a “bridge” on the knitting loom is a fantastic idea!

      • PJ says:

        I’ve received the rubber stuff now so can improve my bridges tonight. I had to design 2 kinds. One, the easiest to make clips on from underneath so that the end of the glove that goes across the gap, has stitches. I found that 29 pegs in total makes a good width, for both gloves and socks, with all the extra pegs added to your new system looms, ( and using my homespun wool which is, tbh, variable in thickness.) That bridge is no good for the fingers, though. For those I made very thin bridges which slot over the top between the pegs. The prototypes are just thin bamboo and gaffa tape. It will be a challenge to try and recreate that with the rubber and pegs. I have to remember to leave room for the knitting that’s already on the loom because these bridges will be pushed into the top of the glove only when I reach the fingers. Not sure how much sense that makes. 😀

      • That’s pretty impressive. Copyright it!
        There are sock looms available, so your turn to make a glove loom : )

      • PJ says:

        Someone already patented loom clips and the description is loose enough that my design would fall into their patent. Oh well. Doesn’t stop me making my own LOL, but I’d be up a gum tree if I tried to sell them.

      • Give them away with a pattern you charge for!

  2. Han says:

    There’s a set of mittens in that book you gave me. I think I have the theory of knitting in the round down just need to figure it out properly as I never seen to have enough stitches to get all the way round so it ends up all stretched out – maybe knitting flat is the way forward!

    • They shouldn’t stretch on DPNs! Circulars can stretch the stitches but they do bounce back : )
      If you’re thinking of baby mittens they’re best done flat rather than your first knit-in-the-round project. Being so small it is a bit fiddly and may put you off for life!

Leave a Reply

