A Very Merry Christmas to you and your Knitting

The days before Christmas have just melted away. We’ve had some more works on the house, leaving further dust and dirt to deal with. I’ve changed jobs and I wonder at my naivete at joining a team at the end of the month, end of the quarter, end of the half year and end of the year with all the mad reporting and management information which is required to be done. We’ve had school concerts, carol singing, plays and parent evenings. We’re waiting for the school reports. We’ve celebrated one year in our new home and new location. And I’ve been missing my mother more this year than last.

And in a few days the shops will be shut and it will be a day for families. I can’t wait.

My recent trip to Switzerland has made me realise how badly we do Christmas in the UK. I was fortunate to come across a Christmas market and the famed Swarovski Christmas tree. I am a little perturbed to report that I burst into tears. It was and no doubt still is, so beautiful – 10 meters or so of Swarovski crystals akin to icicles hanging off the tree sparkling as if my magic. I miss simple and elegant beauty here in the UK. So much of the decorations are last decades’ tinsel!

tree2

But tinsel of no, this is my home and I prefer the manners and warmth of the Brits. Plus I’m not sure I quite like the accompanying angel who has a harp with electrically buzzing strings…

angel

I am ready for Christmas. I have knitted two pairs of gloves, two hats, a cap, three pairs of slippers, a jumper, numerous scarves and a cushion. I don’t have photos of them all, and it matters not. It’s about the giving not the showing off.

Some of you may have noticed I’ve been a little quiet. Some of you may not. In the last few weeks I’ve been thinking hard about my fledgling business and blog. I have come to the realisation that I need to change things for next  year – mainly in the attitude department. However for the time being I’m going to take a sabbatical till next year – to be with my family who are here for me all the time and who need an interactive me not one with her nose buried in a computer. My first step was to have a Christmas party for all the ladies who have been very supportive of me in the last year. Rather flatteringly most of them made time to come and share some mulled wine. Afterwards, I thought about their kindness and generosity and felt very special indeed.

I wish you all a very Merry Christmas, time to spend with your loved ones and and may your stitches never run.

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Christmas and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Very Merry Christmas to you and your Knitting

  1. Merry Christmas lovely xx

  2. Paula walker says:

    Thanks for all your knitting support. Have a wonderful Xmas with your lovely family

  3. csakpanna says:

    It’s so lovely and amazing!:) Finally I have watched it..!;) Merry Christmas wishes from an eager knitter fan 🙂

  4. Han says:

    Either this Christmas or last Christmas (I think it was 2012) there was a Christmas tree in St Pancras Station all made of Lego blocks – it was insane! That Swarvorski is so pretty!

    • Must have been 2011 as last year I was already walking past the Christmas tree in St Pancras and I certainly didn’t see it!
      Didn’t think much of this year’s efforts unfortunately….

Leave a Reply

