A New Scarf Design

I’ve been so focussed on Christmas that autumn is slipping by unnoticed. From knitting up chunky scarves and hats (to be posted) and working on Christmas wreaths (to come), I realised that I needed something lighter to suit the current weather. So here’s my new scarf design – ultra easy.

scarf2I used chunky yarn, cast on 200 stitches on size 5mm needles, and knit one row. I changed to size 6mm needles and carried on in garter stitch until I was almost  out of yarn – just enough to attach the frills. And then I attached the frill. I like the way it doesn’t just fall flat but has a natural curve. This makes it very versatile as it hugs your body – wear it high or low or just tied.

scarfIn the meanwhile, I also succumbed to the owl pouch pattern. I just made a little one to hold my stitch counters.

owl pouchIt is on no way as slick as dogwoof’s but I like him. The pattern is really easy to follow, the jogless stripes truly jogless.

owlsI like him so much, I gave him one of my favourite flower embroidered buttons.

owlSo now that I’ve got that out of my system, I can return to sanity and to the other stuff going on. Apart from work, it’s my son’s 13th birthday this weekend and his coming of age has hit me hard. I’ve also moved my wool room to a different part of the house and it’s been a huge upheaval. I’m hoping that I will be able to sort everything out over the next couple of weeks.

Hope you’re having a good week.

 

 

 

 

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in Craft, crochet, Knitting, Patterns and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Scarf Design

  1. whatzitknitz says:

    13 such a magical and wonderful age. Enjoy these teen years. I loved them with my son and daughter. although it can be hard to see them leave childhood behind it is wonderful to see them reaching out and becoming adults.
    Once your craft room is settled it will be so much easier to work and enjoy your craft. I am thoroughly jealous my craft room is such a mess. I cleaned one part of it yesterday and today I hope to find time to clear up my desk.

    • We’re having the monosyllabic communication during the hormone rush and the clingy neediness when he’s confused by the hormone rush. Perhaphs I’m not best equipped to deal with this as I’m selfishly looking back to the little boy I’m losing (and regretting working throughout his childhood) rather than celebrating the young man I’m gaining. Perhaps the saving grace is that my younger one is going to be very different when he gets there just because he can!
      And of course the craft room move hasn’t helped. I’m such a hamster, I hate change at home. However last night I could see the really positive changes and once the new window is in, we can finish painting and it will be a great place for quiet crafting. I will be boastfully posting photos in breach of my usual no-photos-of-home-or-children-on-blog rule : )

      Thanks for your words of hope! We’re waiting for a bit of magic…

Leave a Reply

