Fashion Forward Knitting and Flourescents

My knitting has been suffering recently – first from my sore wrists and more recently from a total lack of ability to get things just the way I want them. There is a pattern I’ve been working on – it’s only small, but I’ve restarted four times. I’m starting to doubt whether it will ever be off my needles.

frustration

To vent some frustration at not being creative enough, I’ve been working with my yarn colours, including flourescents, to come up with some designs. I’ve seen plenty of splashes of flourescent stripes/flowers/motifs and entire glowing outfits in the Summer…

flou7

and rather surprisingly, this throw-back from the 80s has stayed for the Winter too.

flou1 flou2 flou12

 

In case you’re wondering, the men have not been spared either.

flou6

 

It set me thinking whether there is a tasteful way that very bright colours can be incorporated into knitting. The odd stripe here or pompom there is one thing. But entire outfits? Never. However, I did find these lovelies.

flou13 flou14

I’m not at all suggesting that they should be worn together!

What do you think? Would you ever wear or design something with really bright colours? And what would it be? Let me know!

 

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in colour, Designer and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fashion Forward Knitting and Flourescents

  1. lollyknits says:

    I *love* bright colors, most especially turquoise! I wear a lot of it too.

    • I wear a lot more colours than I used to – there are now very few colours that I don’t have in my wardrobe. By the time I’m in my 80s I’m sure I’ll be wearing pastels too : )

  2. Hmmm. Love this blog, sounds interesting. Can’t wait to see where you go with it.

  3. Mary Jo says:

    Normally I wouldn’t use neon colors except for toys or hats and mitts for children. But recently I picked up a braid of neon green roving at a festival. I walked by it several times before deciding that I would buy it. When I started spinning I looked at the yarn being produced on my wheel and said – “what was I thinking!”
    But as I plied a sample I started dreaming about what the yarn could become and have started sketching something special for me in neon ; )

    • I remember neon colours being all the rage in the 80s and as a conservative teenager I didn’t wear any of it. As a fortysomething I now wear a lot more colour and I ordered some neon colours recently. I really want to make something for adults but not sure whether anyone would be interested.
      I’d love to see your neon project!

  4. Pingback: Update on Fluorescent Yarn - Monster Yarns

  5. Pingback: A Promise kept and More Knitting Ribbing

Leave a Reply

