A Small Baby Project for the Weekend – Free Pattern

Whilst I’m on holiday, I thought I’d repost some of my earlier patterns – in case you missed it….

Although I have children of my own, I have never made a baby bootie. Having finished the earlier Baby Wrap-Cardigan (see earlier Blog and Free Pattern), I was reluctant to let go of the warm colours and smooth feel of the yarn. There is just too much in my left-over stash as it is. And since a love of footwear can never start too early, I thought baby booties to match the cardigan are ideal.

image

These are made on two needles and then joined – easier for those who don’t like knitting in the round or double-pointed needles, but the seam needs careful attention at the end to ensure it is flat and neat next to baby skin.

And here they are – small but perfectly formed with a cable at the front, neat turn-downs and a crochet cord for the bow.

You will need a small amount of baby yarn – probably 20g or so.

Gauge
22 sts and 32 rows = 10 cms in St st.

Instructions
CO 26 sts
Row 1: Knit all stitches
Row 2: Purl all stitches
Row 3: K1, knit into front and back of next st, k9, knit into front and back of next st, k2, knit into front and back of next st, k9, knit into front and back of next st, k1. 30sts
Row 4: Purl all stitches
Row 5: K1, knit into front and back of next st, k11, knit into front and back of next st, k2, knit into front and back of next st, k11, knit into front and back of next st, k1. 34sts
Row 6: Purl all stitches
Row 7: K1, knit into front and back of next st, k13, knit into front and back of next st, k2, knit into front and back of next st, k13, knit into front and back of next st, k1. 38sts
Row 8: Purl all stitches
Row 9: Purl all stitches
Row 10: Knit all stitches
Row 11: Knit all stitches
Row 12: Purl all stitches
Row 13: Purl all stitches
Row 14: Knit all stitches
Row 15: Knit all stitches
Row 16: Purl all stitches
Row 17: Purl all stitches
Row 18: Knit all stitches
Row 19: K15, p2, k4, p2, k1, leave remaining stitches unworked. Do not turn your work.
Row 20: Sl1, turn, p2, k2, p4, k2, p1.
Row 21: Sl1, turn, k2, p2, slip 2 sts to cable needle and hold in front, k2, k2 from cable needle, p2, k2.
Row 22: Sl1, turn, p3, k2, p4, k2, p2.
Row 23: Sl1, turn, k3, p2, k4, p2, k3.
Row 24: Sl1, turn, p4, k2, p4, k2, p3.
Row 25: Sl1, turn, k4, p2, slip 2 sts to cable needle and hold in front, k2, k2 from cable needle, p2, k4.
Row 26: Sl1, turn, p5, k2, p4, k2, p4.
Row 27: Sl1, turn, k5, p2, k4, p2, k5.
Row 28: Sl1, turn, p6, k2, p4, k2, p5.
Row 29: Sl1, turn, k6, p2, slip 2 sts to cable needle and hold in front, k2, k2 from cable needle, p2, k5.
Row 30: Sl1, turn, p7, k2, p4, k2, p6.
Row 31: Sl1, turn, k7, p2, k4, p2, k to the end of the row.
Row 32: Purl all stitches.
Row 33: K1, *k2, yo, k2tog*, repeat from * to * to last stitch, k1.
Row 34: *K1, P1*, repeat from * to * to end of row.
Row 35: *P1, K1*, repeat from * to * to end of row.
Repeat rows 34 and 35 until ribbing measures 6cms.
BO in pattern leaving a long tail for seaming.
Seam back and sole of bootie with tail.
Weave in ends.
Use length of ribbon, crochet chain or 2 stitch i-cord to make neat bow. Threat through holes created in Row 33.

Make two – the only difference should be to hold the cable needle with the two stitches to the back of your work to ensure the cable wraps to the right (the opposite way) to the other bootie. Not compulsory but a nice touch!
image

Give it to a baby to wear.

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in baby, crochet, Knitting, Patterns, Yarn and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to A Small Baby Project for the Weekend – Free Pattern

  1. So cute. Love the colours.

  2. Tina says:

    How adorable! I have a friend who is expecting and these would be super cute to make for her πŸ™‚

  3. Is there a suggested needle size? I’m new at knitting and I need somewhere to get a running start at making the gauge. πŸ˜‰

    • monsteryarns says:

      I’d suggest to start with 3mm needles as most baby yarn works well with that. The other thing to bear in mind is that size is not so vital as if the booties are a little large the tie will keep it in baby’s feet and they will get more wear! πŸ™‚ Good luck with them.

    • monsteryarns says:

      Sorry if I bombarded you with replies – my mobile reception is ropey at best and I can’t tell whether my response has gone!
      Try 3mm. But of course it’s yarn dependent. Don’t get too hung up on it though, bigger baby boots are not a bad thing as it allows baby to grow into them. Emphasis being on baby rather than adult : )

  4. Gloria Waddell says:

    what size needles are used?:

  5. Val Drobel says:

    I’m sorry, I tried to do these, but I don’t understand the sl1. Is this sl1 of the stitches you’re not supposed to work in row 20 on? I was just confused by this. These are adorable, so I hope I can make them.

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hi Val
      On row 19 you have 14 stitches unworked.
      On row 20 you slip one of those stitches and then turn.
      You’re knitting a short row and so you need to wrap the yarn so you don’t create a hole.
      It’s always difficult to know when writing up short-row patterns which row you should add the slip1 and turn instructions on!
      Hope this helps.

  6. love these, simple knitting that looks very complicated! Now, who do I know with a new baby………………

  7. Judy says:

    I like the baby bootie pattern but it does not say what size needles to use.
    Thanks!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hi Judy
      Sort of depends on your yarn – I left it up to each project.
      However I used baby yarn (gauge given) and it required 3.5 mm needles.
      You could just as easily use DK yarn (8ply) with 4mm needles, just as long as you get the same/or pretty much the same gauge.
      The great thing is that babies grow so if the booties are a bit big, they’ll just grow into them : )

      Thanks for coming to visit. Just so you know, I’ve moved the blog to http://www.monsteryarns.co.uk/myblog/. I will shortly be posting patterns for hats/cowls/wintry things.I hope you will have time to visit me there.

      Have a good weekend.
      Judit

  8. Thelma says:

    Hi on row 29 shouldn’t that be k6 not 5 as the next row once you slip the st you P7
    Great easy Booties that I love Thank You

  9. Sue jones says:

    hi there!

    this is an absolutely gorgeous pattern, so thank you for sharing with us all, im just a little confused by ‘yo’ on row 33. is it ‘yarn over’? where its like yarn forward but over the needle instead? Sorry for any confusion, things are abbreviated differently in different countries, and i wanted to make sure i got it correct before trying the pattern out. im in the UK πŸ™‚

    Thanks

    Sue xx

  10. Amy van Dokkumburg says:

    How can I print just the pattern without having to use 7 pages but just 2 for the baby booties

  11. LeAnne says:

    Hi, I made these for my granddaughter and absolutely loved them! I came back to the pattern because I was thinking there was directions for making them in larger sizes. Maybe I’m remembering wrong. I need 6-9 month size.
    Thank you

    • monsteryarns says:

      Hello!
      I’m sorry but I haven’t worked this in a larger size. I don’t think there would be a lot of difference – perhaps 4 – 6 stitches.
      I’m so glad that you’re enjoying the pattern πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

