Pram Blanket for Clever Babies

I’ve seen many blogs recently committing and finishing large projects – complex shawls, large throws, blankets and on and  on. I always wanted to make something large. And this is my attempt.

Jpeg

Using some lovely summery soft cotton DK in linen, pink and lavender and I started making squares. This is another thing that I’ve never yet been able to do, repeat knit patterns. And here you’re looking at 20 squares. All of the same pattern. I know I’m belabouring the point but this really is a big first for me.

Making the squares...only another 10 or so to go!

Making the squares…only another 10 or so to go!

I wanted to have a gently striped, textured pram blanket. So when I had all the squares done, I played around with the lay out and determined my favourite. This is it.

Gradual colour changes

Gradual colour changes

I then started to crochet them together. First along the rows and then along the length. It didn’t take long – I love crochet for that.

Jpeg

Partway done

Finally I edged the whole item – in the three separate colours and finished off with crabstitch. And that’s it! I am incredibly proud because I class this as a large project. And in case you spotted the pattern – I hope you have – here’s a close up. Take a guess at what it is:

It is a ....

It is a ….

I hope you can see what it is. The clue is in the title of the blog. Let me know what you think.

And here’s the final photo. The edging is most definitely there.

Jpeg

If you’re clueless, here’s the pattern I used.

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in baby, colour, Craft, crochet, Granny Squares, Knitting, my design, Patterns, Summer, texture, Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Pram Blanket for Clever Babies

  1. Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    That is really pretty!!

  2. lollyknits says:

    OMG love the owl cables! I did a whole baby

  3. lollyknits says:

    (sorry, my computer decided that comment was ready to post) As I was saying, I did a whole baby set with those owl cables a few months ago, booties, hat, sweater, and sleep sack. The lady I made them for had a husband who is obsessed with owls, though I didn’t know it at the time, so it was perfect. I actually want an owl sweater for me 😛 I just think that the shape of those cables is so clever..

    • monsteryarns says:

      I love cables. Well, the concept of cables anyway. I quickly get bored. But doing cables just like this was great! Doing a sweater with a huge owl on the front, or perhaps dotted around here and there would look great!

  4. soknitsome says:

    Beautiful blanket. Those colours are lovely and the owls are really cute!

  5. teabeaknits says:

    This is so pretty – what lovely colours…..and the owl cable is very clever (although I did think it was a DNA strand at first – you can take the girl out of biochemistry but you can’t take biochemistry out of the girl 😉

  6. Nice! I’ve never yet managed a big pattern like that, and I’ve been knitting 20 years! Good for you!

  7. I made a baby blanket for my husband and I when we started trying to get pregnant that was all owls. I ♥LOVE♥ owls! This is so lovely and the colors are beautiful! Way to commit!

  8. Pingback: Confessions of a modern-day Maiden Aunt |

Leave a Reply

