4KCBWDAY4 – Colour Review

I knit and crochet because I love the colour and texture of yarn I work with. They are in equal first position. There have been occasions I’ve bought yarn on the internet as it looked right, only to cause disappointment as the texture wasn’t what I was expecting or it was just a washed-out version of the photo selling it. So really, I can’t divorce colour from texture in my yarn. The two together make up the entire tactile experience. Perhaps the best example of colour being linked to everything else is when I was speaking to a friend who is blind, and has been from birth. She had very recently acquired a guide dog and we were all becoming acquainted. Whilst gently massaging the silky-velvety ears, I commented on the dog’s colour and my friend said that she really wanted to “see” the colour of her new companion. I told her that her new guide was exactly the colour of the smell of freshly baked bread and she understood.

Like many, I gravitate towards certain colours. In my heart I really know that I don’t need another burnt orange jumper/top. But show me a colour spectrum of yarn and inevitably I will touch the orange one first. Closely followed by some truly wonderful colours I’ve labelled (incorrectly) as non-colours – purply taupe, Kenyan coffee mushroom, lagoon-green, moonlight grey, iridescent green. To me they are non-colours as they fall in between the obvious colours on charts. I love them all. And if they are on a self-striping yarn, it guarantees an instant buy, usually irrespective of price.  

And of course, if there is a hint of sparkle, a bit of lurex, a few sequins here and there, all the better. Well, can’t a girl have a little fun?

My stash and my colour choices all reflect this love of the weird and wonderful and my projects this year have all been on the colourful end of the spectrum – not one single colour anywhere! Any poor bee coming into contact with my stash and projects is likely to go into a frenzy of activity, flying from yarn to yarn to savour each bright and soft strand before plopping exhausted into a basket of skeins waiting to be turned into hanks.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Thank you to www.rashdala.com for providing the colours and photos.

If you are interested in more information in Knitting and Crochet Blog Week 2013, please visit www.eskimimimakes.com or search 4KCBW.

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in colour, Knitting and Crochet Blog Week, texture, wool, Yarn and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 4KCBWDAY4 – Colour Review

  1. Hannie says:

    I think I tend to gravitate towards greens at the moment, but I also love pinks and purples. Purple used to be my favourite though lol.

  2. Pigtails says:

    I am so with you! Hop over and you will see I blogged about texture too. I actually completed a sensory ethnography for a postgrad 2 years ago! I also love your colour choices and think we like similar colours as well. Cheers!

    • monsteryarns says:

      Great blog and fantastic pictures. I’d love to see the postgrad’s thesis on this subject. It’s really intriguing. Thanks for getting in touch.

      • Pigtails says:

        I saw your comment – that was the colours I blogged about during the last blogweek though. I now use very different, toned down colours if you hop over again and see this year’s postings. Yip the sensory one was super interesting especially sonce we actually use more senses than just the 5 that westerners learn about. Space, balance etc are also senses! here are links to the studies on the blog at the sidebar. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

