May your Stripes be Bold and Bright

I’m obviously not a yarn purist as I adore self-striping yarn. The line is very clear on this – you either love it or hate it. It’s like the Marmite question. Or the Cats v. Dogs question. For me it was love at first sight, that is, the first sight of the gentle gradation of colour emanating from my needles without any work on my behalf. Gorgeous. Magical even.  I think it looks fantastic for baby garments – blankets/wraps/sleeping bags. It panders to all new Mothers’ desire to make their baby look even more adorable and also to match the new Nursery.

IMG00004-20120708-1640

It looks fantastic in scarves and other accessories (for cushions, Easter eggs and coasters see my earlier posts). It works well as it provides a splash of colour in a usually uniform world of dark coats in the winter. Unfortunately this one was still on the needle when I took the photo and now it has been gifted but not photographed in its full glory. And yes, there is a whole in the middle, it is for tucking the end of the scarf in it.

Jpeg

Having said all that, I think it is very easy to get carried away. I can’t help but wonder what is going on with this pullover. A wonderful cabled design, a feminine neutral colour scheme – the two together are just too busy.

y4886[1]

And just when everyone thought there were no more innovations to be made on the self-striping colour schemes, along came self-patterning AND self-striping yarn. Is there no end to the fun?

Jpeg

I was so excited to discover sock yarn in the same wonderful design. In idle moments, I mused on how it was possible to get the pattern falling at just the right stitch to create the designs every single time, for every single size of sock. My mind boggled at the possibilities. Of course, the reality is very simple. I found out from a yarn manufacturer a few months ago that when the yarn was first designed, it was knitted up and the pattern stamped on. The sock was then unravel and the pattern altered to ensure it would fit all size of socks and projects. It was a little disappointing as I was thinking of different and more complicated methods.

Socks

If you believe that colour is not enough, here’s colour and texture, although I struggle to think what I’d use this yarn for!

577366[1]

A word of warning before you rush out and buy a lot of self-patterning yarn: the pattern is usually lost in translation when used in crochet. If you’re crocheting, stick to self-striping yarn.

About monsteryarns

I am a yarn enthusiast and knitter.
This entry was posted in baby, children, colour, Craft, crochet, Designer, Fashion, Interior Design, Knitting, Patterns, self-patterning yarn, self-striping yarn, texture, wool, Yarn and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May your Stripes be Bold and Bright

  1. Hannie says:

    I love self-patterning – it looks so good on crochet. I’ve used it on quite a few projects. I love how it changes the colour of the square without having to change yarn multiple times.

Leave a Reply

